Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Hello... I agree with Chef Mike. I cooked this chili yesterday for our semi annual chili 'cook off' and was awarded "best chili" out of about 12 entries... Did not deviate from the recipe other than using the seeds from half of the Hab's and Jalop's and adding a can of tomato sauce because it seemed thicker than I prefer. Simmered for about three hours. Thought it would be MUCH hotter than it actually turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iloveme284
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I never ate chili, but I thought I'd try something new. I chose this recipe because I love spicy and the reviews were pretty convincing. And I'm glad I chose it. What a great recipe to get me in to chili. I feel like I've been missing out all my life. This recipe has a nice heat to it. The spiciness wasn't overwhelming but as others said its relative. I like spicy and I rarely find things too hot. I made slight alterations to this recipe. I cooked it in a slow cooker overnight. I added more garlic (about 6 cloves) and omitted the water (my slow cooker had no room for water by the time I added everything else). And I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar. My husband loved the chili but asked if I could add more beans the next time. I think there was enough beans. Maybe next time I might add more bacon as it wasn't noticeable but other than that it was a great recipe. Living in California made finding the ingredients easy. I would recommend this recipe and will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! Entered this in a chili cook-off and placed second, missing first place by 1 vote. Our grocer had Anaheim peppers, however we could not find Chile paste, so we went without it. Also, based on the reviews here, I added 1/2 tablespoon salt and tasted it, preparing to add another 1/2 tablespoon, but it was perfect. Also note that 1 Wyler's bouillon cube = 1 teaspoon of granules, and there are 3 teaspoons in a tablespoon. Therefore this recipe calls for 6 bouillon cubes. One thing my wife and I will change when we make it again is add the full 1 lb of bacon instead of the half pound. The bacon was barely noticeable. Note that seeding 21 peppers is not a quick task...do that part first! Also, I used PBR for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Ladwig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
If this chili tastes half as good as it smells then I have a keeper here! Can't wait to try this, only changes I made were serrano's for the jalepeno's and beef broth instead of water. Oh, and I used ground turkey because the grocery store had a few pounds on clearance and I could not pass up the price! Can't wait for the family to get home so we can dig in. Sour cream, cheese, and scallions for topping and corn bread muffins on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We really liked this hot but tasty soup. We don't eat ground round or ground pork, so I substituted ground turkey. My grocery store was out of Habanero, so I just added more Anaheim peppers. I also don't use bouillon granules, so I used soy sauce instead. It is definitely worth the effort and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marius Thompson
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I loved the receipt thanx did it exactly as instructed came out great thanx from South Africa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marius Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I just made this chili and followed the recipe exactly. This is probably the best chili I have ever eaten! We love spicy foods and so the name of the chili really tempted me! It is obviously very spicy but the flavors are just incredible! I believe this will be my official tailgating chili this coming football season! Thanks for a wonderful recipe, this will be enjoyed over and over again by us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I've made this chili 3 times now. That's how much I love this recipe!! This last time I only made 2 changes that I think still think are true to the recipe. ( I don't like reviews where the entire recipe is changed so much that it's not what was originally posted!) Some of my guests wanted a soupier chili, so this last time I did not drain any of the cans. I think that also added flavor in addition to liquid. I also added (because it was on hand and needed to be used) a pound of chorizo sausage. The end result was awesome! This is the only chili I will be making from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCTAYLOR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is really good chili but whoooeeee it is hot! I even put only 4 jalapeno/habanero chili's ... I couldnt' find anaheim chili's (don't know what kind they are - mild?) used new Mexico dried chili's (soaked and blended with some beef broth) - they're kinda fruity and mildly spicy. I used an orange pepper vs. a green bell pepper (like the flavor better). I also used beef broth vs. water and boullion. MY DH likes beans so added 2 cans of drained/rinsed kidney beans in addition to the chili beans. The next time I make this I will use the whole 6 OZ can of tomato paste vs just 3 OZ Very good flavor - the "boys" really liked this chili. Served it with toppings of cheddar, diced sweet onion and sour cream. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent base chili recipe. Didn't have the anaheims so just threw in a can of green chiles. Everything else basically the same plus a bay leaf. Wasn't as hot as I expected with that many habaneros but flavor was excellent. "Wake up to find out that you are the eyes of the world" R. Hunter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States