Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was short by half the Anaheim peppers called for, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I pureed the tomatoes and peppers for a smooth chili, and the texture turned out just perfect. I like very hot food, but this was a little too hot for even me! Husband loved it as is, but he's obviously insane. The proportions and flavor are perfect as-is, my only change will be to lose about half the peppers and see if I can eat more than a few bites next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
EXCELLENT! I only used 3 habanero, 3 seranno (in place of the anaheim, which I could not find) and 6 jalapeno. It was not too spicy. A little kick, but that was all. So, so tasty, I think it's the bacon that makes this dish... Next time, and there will be a next time!, I'll use the full amount of habaneros and try to find anaheim chilis.. Serve with yummy crusty french bread for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I have made this recipe twice now and get rave reviews from our guests everytime. Depending on who is going to be eating the chili, I adjust the amount of peppers to regulate the hottness. This makes great chili leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
loved this. you must really like really hot food to like this. my boyfriend LOVED it too. i couldn't find habaneros so i just added extras of the other peppers. everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
It's been awhile since I have made this. This is quite hot using habanero's but if your even attempting this recipe hot is obviously what your looking for. The flavor is excellent just the way it is. Perfect! There is no such thing as too many peppers as the previous reviews stated. Good chili if spilled on the table should leave a burn mark in the wood. If for some reason you feel this is too hot you can always add a bit of sugar, this will eliminate some of the acidity hence taking a bit of heat from the chili. I don't recommend adding gobs of sugar or it will be too sweet. A bit of sweet ketchup or some baking soda will help too. This is our new family recipe from now on for chili. Thanks for posting it Edd! FYI, If you forget or do not wear gloves cutting the peppers your hands will burn, baking soda will help with this too. Take some hand soap and 3-4 tablespoons of baking soda and rub it in really good, let it sit on your hands a few minutes and rinse. Good as new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe that is flexible enough for tweaking. I won a very close 3rd place at a chile cook-off with a slight variation on this recipe. The heat from the peppers comes on slowly and fills the whole mouth, instead of burning a part of your tongue until you're in tears. I used diced pork instead of ground (a great contrast in texture). Also, I couldn't find Anaheims, so I threw in a couple of serranos and a can of chipotles with the adobo sauce. It was just a fantastic chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Super Chili! Great taste with a punch! Only put 4 Habaneros and substituted tabasco sauce for the Anaheims. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I love this recipe. I entered a chili contest and won 2nd place, not bad. Adding the best beer possible, gave it a unique flavor that everyone was trying to figure out what it was. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Awesome! I cut down on the Anaheim peppers(by half) and limited the Habanero peppers to four. I also added canned sweet corn to each individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This chili is great!!! I made a few changes: I used 3 habanero, 3 serreno, and 3 jalapeno pepper. I omitted the chili paste because all I could find was chili sauce and I omitted the red pepper flakes. Other than that I followed the direction. After modifying the peppers this chili was good with a little kick. My kids including my 19 month old loved it. I put the peppers, onion, green pepper, and garlic in the food processor to cut down on prep time so it was very easy to make. The only change I would make next time is that I would add the whole tomatoes to the food processor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States