Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Was made for Superbowl - IT IS superb with a GREAT KICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is an excellent chili, very spicy, but also very good. I would highly recommend this for anyone who likes spicy food. I used this to enter into a chili cookoff at work. I wanted a very spicy chili and was going for the spiciest chili. It didn't win the spiciest, but did win the best overall! Here are the changes I made: I used 10 habaneros, substituted serrano peppers for the jalepenos, and used 10 of them also; I only seeded half of each of these types of peppers. I only used 4 anaheim peppers. I used no water, but I did not drain the beans. When I make this again, I will use 1 full pound of bacon. I think there are a lot of options to make this more or less spicy, but I wouldn't change too much, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this for a chili cook-off at work and it took third place. Next time I will add a few more peppers, but it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This chili has an amazing flavor! I just finished preparing my second pot. I followed the recipe exactly as written both times, because it's perfect. It is a nice hot chili, but not as hot as you would think it would be because you remove the seeds and I also removed the veins. It was completely unfair of the reviewer who gave this recipe a bad review because the fumes from the peppers affected him/her, I mean, come on. That is why you take precautions when working with hot peppers, rubber gloves and tie a towel over your nose and mouth if you're worried about it. But I digress, this is the best chili recipe I've ever made, and is the only one I will ever make again. Thanks Edd for a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this based on the positive reviews. As I am here in my kitchen, I can hardly breathe from all the fumes from the peppers. And I LOVE spicy food; everyone in my family knows I do. I couldn't believe a recipe could call for 20 peppers, 12 of which were incredibly hot, and still be edible, so I cut the jalapenos to 2, the habaneros to 2 (all with seeds out), and the Anaheims to 2 (few seeds in). And this turned out nearly inedible. I am hoping I can salvage it by adding something else, but what? The only thing I can smell and/or taste is the spiciness from the peppers. I should have stuck to my tried and true, Reno Red, from the Chili Madness cookbook. This chili has more than one flavor dimension, and it's spicy but very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
So hot, so good. My new favourite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My wife usually makes chili, however I impressed upon the fact that chili needs to stay true to its namesake! And this recipe does just that! It was amaaaaazing! Definitely not as spicy as I thought it would be, seeing it took me a solid hour and a half to chop all the chilies. But well worth it. WOW. This is the only chili my family will be eating going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a great chili. My boyfriend and I cooked it in a slow cooker instead which reduced the intensity of the habanero (to our dismay). We cooked up the bacon, and then cooked the ground meat in some of the bacon grease. Then we threw in all the ingredients (including the juices) and then placed them all but adding the bacon in the last half hour of cooking. We did halve the anaheim and ommitted the bell pepper. For our personal taste, and from some of the pictures it seemed like too much green pepper for us. We also kept the seeds to keep some of the kick but it still wasn't enough for us. We prefer it more spicy and the slow cooker seems to reduce the spicyness so we may add more habanero to ours in order to maintain that spice. Overall, the recipe is delicious and I will gladly make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
i added some a1 for taste....gives it a nice kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
this was the kickin' chili I was looking for. It had that "please can I have some more" appeal to it, served with cheese toast--perfect, my family at the whole crockpot full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States