Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Made this for my family (husband and one son just love hot stuff). I personally don't care for chili but was a big hit with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
luved it....make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I've been looking for my fav. chili recipe and that means it needs to be hot. Habanero peppers are a must and so far this chili is the best. I really don't change anything from the listed recipe except that i'm unable to find anything called chili paste at my local grocery store....which is a big store. Also, just to give it the consistency i like, i leave out one cup of water. I have added extra habanero's but it's not necessary. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I used this as a base for my award winning chili. It won both the best chili and the hottest chili awards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Was made for Superbowl - IT IS superb with a GREAT KICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is an excellent chili, very spicy, but also very good. I would highly recommend this for anyone who likes spicy food. I used this to enter into a chili cookoff at work. I wanted a very spicy chili and was going for the spiciest chili. It didn't win the spiciest, but did win the best overall! Here are the changes I made: I used 10 habaneros, substituted serrano peppers for the jalepenos, and used 10 of them also; I only seeded half of each of these types of peppers. I only used 4 anaheim peppers. I used no water, but I did not drain the beans. When I make this again, I will use 1 full pound of bacon. I think there are a lot of options to make this more or less spicy, but I wouldn't change too much, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this for a chili cook-off at work and it took third place. Next time I will add a few more peppers, but it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This chili has an amazing flavor! I just finished preparing my second pot. I followed the recipe exactly as written both times, because it's perfect. It is a nice hot chili, but not as hot as you would think it would be because you remove the seeds and I also removed the veins. It was completely unfair of the reviewer who gave this recipe a bad review because the fumes from the peppers affected him/her, I mean, come on. That is why you take precautions when working with hot peppers, rubber gloves and tie a towel over your nose and mouth if you're worried about it. But I digress, this is the best chili recipe I've ever made, and is the only one I will ever make again. Thanks Edd for a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this based on the positive reviews. As I am here in my kitchen, I can hardly breathe from all the fumes from the peppers. And I LOVE spicy food; everyone in my family knows I do. I couldn't believe a recipe could call for 20 peppers, 12 of which were incredibly hot, and still be edible, so I cut the jalapenos to 2, the habaneros to 2 (all with seeds out), and the Anaheims to 2 (few seeds in). And this turned out nearly inedible. I am hoping I can salvage it by adding something else, but what? The only thing I can smell and/or taste is the spiciness from the peppers. I should have stuck to my tried and true, Reno Red, from the Chili Madness cookbook. This chili has more than one flavor dimension, and it's spicy but very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
So hot, so good. My new favourite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States