Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I grow my own Habeneros and Jalepenos but I only had 4 Habeneros at the time I made this, so it might have been called "heckfire chili". Then again, my home grown varieties are smaller and hotter then grocery store ones so maybe not. If you can't find whole Anaheim peppers, you might be able to find them dried. New Mexico chili peppers work well too. If there is a Latino grocery nearby you should be able to find them there. If I am going to spend the 2 hours making this, I'll use dried beans instead of canned. You will reduce the sodium and it will taste better. Just boil them in a separate pot while you are cooking everything else, add some baking soda about 15 minutes before the end and drain before adding them in the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Six stars! It's our chili of choice; I start a new batch when we get down to a quart in the freezer. (Freezes well.) In California, all (fresh) chilis are thankfully readily available, along with chili paste. Slow cook overnight-10 hours min; reduces "heat" a little but seems to enhance flavor, if that's possible. (Plus, we get to enjoy the aroma upstairs all night long.) Pepper seeds not removed; No Wimpy Chili! No water used; another beer added at 3:00am. Full pound of bacon. Double amount of garlic (or triple). When wife nukes a bowl for lunch at work, her workmates drool, ooh and ahh from the aroma wafting throughout the room. We really love all-beef HHCdogs or on top of rice. Thanks Edd Ryan; you've created a thing of beauty. Maybe it should be called Edd's Habanero Hellfire Chili?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Chili-licious! I must say that I am not a huge fan of chili, but this recipe has changed my opinion. It was so flavorful, spicy and a great consistency. The only changes I made were: omit the water (added alittle extra beer ), added about 1/4 Cup of brown sugar, and alittle extra garlic. Prior to serving added the juice of one lime and then served with cilantro, sour cream and alittle cheddar cheese. Amazing! Took 3rd out of 25 at a chili cook off :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
An excellent chili worth the extra effort with the peppers instead of just plain old chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffdhusker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I've gotten a LOT of compliments on this chili(first one I've ever made, or liked!). Changes: used a good IPA beer(Sierra Nevada), added only 1cup of water, added about 1 cup lt. brown sugar, 2x the garlic, 2x the red pepper flakes, diced tomatoes. It's a great base recipe though, it's terrific the way it is; leaves your mouth with a satisfying tingle/numbness but not overpowering. There is also a lot of room for modifications and additions, everyone wants this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Halved it and it was still an enormous amount of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We love spicy foods so we bumped this recipe up a bit. Beans were reduced by half a can and we went with 8 of each pepper, keeping the seeds. The result was about as hot as a real Thai dish. (I wouldn't recommend this modification to anyone who isn't sure what a real Thai dish is, though, as it may remove a few layers from your soft palate.) I would also recommend latex gloves when handling the habaneros. I didn't do this and my left paw is now pink and hairless. The chili is so good, however, that it was worth it. 5 stars and a "Yee Haw!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pablo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fabulous! All those peppers blend when cooked and mellow into a wonderful, deliciously spicy chili! I would put the spice rating at 6+ on a 1-10 scale. We used all of the peppers and added a bit of red wine, replaced one green pepper with an orange bell pepper (we doubled the recipe), used ale instead of beer, used no water, and lightened up on the meat by about a pound (again, we doubled it) & used chili sauce instead of chili paste. Unbelievable~ we won our little chili/soup contest by a landslide out of about 10 chili's plus 6 or so other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di9977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe, like to add a few more beans to thicken things up and stretch it out a bit and if people complain about the spice I hand them some sour cream and/or cheese. Other than that always prepare as directed and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great if you can take it. We can! Better have a lot of sour cream on hand:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States