Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Chili-licious! I must say that I am not a huge fan of chili, but this recipe has changed my opinion. It was so flavorful, spicy and a great consistency. The only changes I made were: omit the water (added alittle extra beer ), added about 1/4 Cup of brown sugar, and alittle extra garlic. Prior to serving added the juice of one lime and then served with cilantro, sour cream and alittle cheddar cheese. Amazing! Took 3rd out of 25 at a chili cook off :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
An excellent chili worth the extra effort with the peppers instead of just plain old chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffdhusker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I've gotten a LOT of compliments on this chili(first one I've ever made, or liked!). Changes: used a good IPA beer(Sierra Nevada), added only 1cup of water, added about 1 cup lt. brown sugar, 2x the garlic, 2x the red pepper flakes, diced tomatoes. It's a great base recipe though, it's terrific the way it is; leaves your mouth with a satisfying tingle/numbness but not overpowering. There is also a lot of room for modifications and additions, everyone wants this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Halved it and it was still an enormous amount of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We love spicy foods so we bumped this recipe up a bit. Beans were reduced by half a can and we went with 8 of each pepper, keeping the seeds. The result was about as hot as a real Thai dish. (I wouldn't recommend this modification to anyone who isn't sure what a real Thai dish is, though, as it may remove a few layers from your soft palate.) I would also recommend latex gloves when handling the habaneros. I didn't do this and my left paw is now pink and hairless. The chili is so good, however, that it was worth it. 5 stars and a "Yee Haw!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pablo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fabulous! All those peppers blend when cooked and mellow into a wonderful, deliciously spicy chili! I would put the spice rating at 6+ on a 1-10 scale. We used all of the peppers and added a bit of red wine, replaced one green pepper with an orange bell pepper (we doubled the recipe), used ale instead of beer, used no water, and lightened up on the meat by about a pound (again, we doubled it) & used chili sauce instead of chili paste. Unbelievable~ we won our little chili/soup contest by a landslide out of about 10 chili's plus 6 or so other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di9977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe, like to add a few more beans to thicken things up and stretch it out a bit and if people complain about the spice I hand them some sour cream and/or cheese. Other than that always prepare as directed and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great if you can take it. We can! Better have a lot of sour cream on hand:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I absolutely love this chili, as does everyone who I have made it for! I have never really liked chili, but this one I LOVE! I also make a variation of this chili that is not so hot for those who cant handle the spicyness, aslo fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I make chili A LOT, and thought I might have hit the jackpot with this recipe. Sorry, I had high hopes, but my family was "so so" about it. They told me to stick with the one I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States