Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I made this for the Super Bowl and it got rave reviews! DO be sure to wear gloves when cutting the peppers though. I didn't and my hands were burning the whole rest of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I got great feedback on this Chili. I added a tblsp more Cumin than what the recipe asked for, cut the habenaro amount to 4, and used less anaheim peppers used 2 instead. Everyone loved it. The chili had enough heat but everyone could taste all the ingredients. I let my chili cook in the crockpot for a day or two and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Came out alright....peppers still hard.. not spicy enough for me though. Other than that I thought it was a great combination of peppers and spicies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Loved this recipe. Will make it again. And next time my husband will use gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. I just won 1st place in a chili cook-off out of 14 contestants! I used the exact recipe, just added a tbsp of salt. For those who have never heard of chili paste, I found it in the Asian section of the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
i loosly used this recipe in a chili cookoff contest and it won overwhemingly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
When I was reading about habanero peppers, one article said to wear gloves when you prepare them. I thought it was a joke...THIS IS NO JOKE PEOPLE! My hands hurt so bad my husband had to do the clean up after I made this chili. Shucks! Five stars for sure-- he loved it. I couldn't find ground pork so I used beef and ground turkey. I also used beef broth instead of the granules and water. As for the beer...it was Bud Select from the neighbor. I spose I'll have to share some chili with them too now... My only gripe with this, besides the pain, is that it is a little "soupy" for my liking, so I'll probably add an extra can of beans next time, or a little less liquid. All the seeding, chopping, etc is worth it for this chili! Just an edit to add...this thickened better overnight in the fridge and was even better as leftovers. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Way good and extra spicy with great depth of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I've been trying several chili recipes, and so far this one is my favorite. It's not too hot (at least not to hubby and me), and the flavor is great. Had a hard time finding the chili paste, but finally found some at Kroger on the aisle with the condiments. It was on the top shelf near the chili sauces. Found gloves (to use when chopping the peppers) at Wal-Mart in the Health/Medicine section. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good! Just won a chili cookoff for HOTTEST chili with this recipe! My suggestion is make sure that you wear gloves while seeding the peppers! I had people sweating from all the flavors in the chili. Much better second day! I was not able to find chile paste, it was still great without it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States