Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Very good! Wonderful recipe as is, but I have to admit that I added a few things for personal taste. First, I used ground venison instead of beef or pork because we have tons of it in the freezer. (Didnt use the bacon) I also added fresh diced tomatoes, extra peppers and garlic, and a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. (chopped the peppers and poured in some of the sauce) Amazing! Thank you, thank you! This will be my chili recipe from now on. Topped with sour cream and served with cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was really good. We used half beef and half buffalo meat and it was wonderful! I did add an extra can of beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMBILALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Troy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great recipe - great flavor even after cutting back by half on the peppers. I think they could be cut back even again and it would still have a nice heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeHedstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I added a touch of brown sugar and honey to make it a "sweet heat". Had no luck finding habenero's in the chain grocery store so substituted more jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love this recipe! I have made it about 20 times in the last 3 years. I have altered it a bit though. As me and most of the people who come over to eat it dont care for chunks of tomato. So I just put in 30 ounces of tomato sauce and no chunks of tomatoes or whole tomatoes. I also put in about a whole pound of bacon to go with the pound of pork and beef. I dont add habanero since i already get complaints about it being to hot with just jalapeno. I just dont take out much of the seeds in my jalapenos so it still has kick to it. Anyone who is thinking about making this for the super bowl or any other occaison I recommend it and will be making it Super Bowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
THIS WAS GREAT. I ELIMINATED ALL THE PEPPERS EXCEPT THE JALAPENOS AND USED A 16.5 OZ BOTTLE OF DOC JACKS HABANERO GRILLIN SOSS. THIS CHILI ALSO GOES GREAT WITH ANDY'S FIVE PEPPER WINGS ALSO LOADED WITH PEPPERS AND LOTS OF HEAT. GREAT COMBO FOR ANY SUPERBOWL PARTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe, Followed it to the T with the exception of the Bacon, only because I didnt have any, added a little extra Cumin... because I love it ... Was afraid the peppers would be tooo hot, but not at all, was very flavorful & with the peppers being seeded, the heat was perfect ! Great recipe , was told not to lose this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
If you like spicy chili this is the recipe for you. With the amount of peppers in the recipe its not as hot as you'd think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Photo by DaCuda
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very very good! It is hot of course but the taste is fantastic and yes, its easy to make. It is MUCH better after sitting in the fridge a day or two! After sitting it also does not seem as hot so next time we plan to add a bit more bacon, another habanero and two more cans of beans. But the first time we followed the recipe exact and it turned out fantastic. If you did not think much of it after making it please try throwing it in the fridge and reheat it well the next day, its a whole new chili after that! I did cook longer as well, forgot to mention that. I cooked it for about 90 minutes then added bacon and beans. I had to run so I left it on low for about 3 hours after that. Also, for gloves I had a box of surgical gloves and that works GREAT. They fit so well to your hands they do not get in the way and after chopping the peppers can just be thrown out. A whole box is only a couple bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaCuda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
very very good chili very colorful and spicy keep a box of tissues around 4 people to wipe there runny nose on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States