Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very very good tasting recipe, but I didn't give it 5 stars due to it seeming more like a "chili pepper soup", than regular chili. There are sooo many peppers that they are all you taste. Could use more meat and beans and less peppers to even it all out. I also wish the recipe writer would've put a warning in the recipe regarding handling the peppers as my hands were in great pain for 5 hrs from the habanero's. I didn't know to use gloves when handling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I ate this for 4 days straight...They were the best 4 days of my life. Love the recipe even though my hands burned for 24 hours after I cut up all the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmh571

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
awesome recipe and easy to follow. i added corn and red kidney beans! i'll definetly make more of this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
After reading the reviews for this recipe, I was excited try it for myself. The other "fans" were not exaggerating... This chili is incredibly delicious. Far and away the best I've ever tasted, perhaps the best soup-type dish I've ever tasted. Amazing depth of flavor. I followed the recipe to the letter except for the peppers. Heeding the advice of others, I reduced the peppers by 1/2. While my tailgating friends complained about the spicyness, all of them agreed the chili, although spicy, was not overwhelming or painful/torturous. The proportions of meat/beans/liquid can be altered, but I suggest trying "as is" before getting too creative. This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is an excellent recipe if you like warm and spicy chili. The peppers blend nicely and I won first place at our small chili cook off with this recipe. The recipe lends itself to all types of interpretations and I did have to make some pepper substitutions since I could not find Anaheim peppers. I look forward to making it again as the original poster intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Defuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Big Hit!!! Though I didn't attempt the full amount of peppers. I Just used 6 jalapenos and 4 Anahiems. But It was just right for us! I will make this my staple chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this for a cook off (I'll let you know how that goes). But I imagine a lot of people will submit chili so hot it'll make your throat bleed, so I toned this down to make a little more family friendly. I love the way the flavors marry. Nothing in particular stands out, its still got quite a bit of kick, but you can really enjoy eating it too. I love the bacon, chili paste(never thought of that!) I also used Serrano peppers, fresh tomatoes instead of canned, beef stock instead of bouillon and omitted the water...Very good recipe! wish me luck... ...I won 2nd place! thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I just won 1st place in a chili competition.Absolutely the tastiest chili I've ever eaten. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walter murray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Couldn't find a couple of things in our northern south dakota town of 25,000. No fresh habenero's or chili paste. Used pickled habenero's and just omitted the chili paste. Other than that did exactly as recipe called for. We like spicy food, so very good, if you don't like spicy, don't bother, you will hate it. Thanks, great chili recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Tonight is the second time I am making this. It is sooooo good. The first time I cut down on the peppers. I used 3 Habanero, 4 Jalapeno and 6 Anaheim. I also used less of the red pepper flakes. This time I am going all in. 6 Habaneros, 6 Jalapenos and 6 Anaheim. Can't wait for the results. Even that it was really good last time and spicy, I felt the next day it didn't have that much heat. It was still amazing, but not spicy, that's why I am trying it with all the peppers. Can't hardly wait. One more hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States