Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is an excellent recipe if you like warm and spicy chili. The peppers blend nicely and I won first place at our small chili cook off with this recipe. The recipe lends itself to all types of interpretations and I did have to make some pepper substitutions since I could not find Anaheim peppers. I look forward to making it again as the original poster intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Defuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Big Hit!!! Though I didn't attempt the full amount of peppers. I Just used 6 jalapenos and 4 Anahiems. But It was just right for us! I will make this my staple chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this for a cook off (I'll let you know how that goes). But I imagine a lot of people will submit chili so hot it'll make your throat bleed, so I toned this down to make a little more family friendly. I love the way the flavors marry. Nothing in particular stands out, its still got quite a bit of kick, but you can really enjoy eating it too. I love the bacon, chili paste(never thought of that!) I also used Serrano peppers, fresh tomatoes instead of canned, beef stock instead of bouillon and omitted the water...Very good recipe! wish me luck... ...I won 2nd place! thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I just won 1st place in a chili competition.Absolutely the tastiest chili I've ever eaten. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Couldn't find a couple of things in our northern south dakota town of 25,000. No fresh habenero's or chili paste. Used pickled habenero's and just omitted the chili paste. Other than that did exactly as recipe called for. We like spicy food, so very good, if you don't like spicy, don't bother, you will hate it. Thanks, great chili recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Tonight is the second time I am making this. It is sooooo good. The first time I cut down on the peppers. I used 3 Habanero, 4 Jalapeno and 6 Anaheim. I also used less of the red pepper flakes. This time I am going all in. 6 Habaneros, 6 Jalapenos and 6 Anaheim. Can't wait for the results. Even that it was really good last time and spicy, I felt the next day it didn't have that much heat. It was still amazing, but not spicy, that's why I am trying it with all the peppers. Can't hardly wait. One more hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
this was sooooooo good. I loved it. It was even better the next day!! Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good, took some to work and everyone wanted the recipe. Will definetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malefic Corpse

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My family loved this! I looked at the other reviews and left out some of the peppers. I used 6 jalapenos, and 3 habeneros. No Annehiems. I also left out the chili paste since I couldn't find any and doubled the tomato paste. This makes ALOT of Chili! We ate it for dinner and hubby took it for lunch and I still froze some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Thought this was a great recipe. I followed the ingredient list and was scared after I tasted the aneheim peppers because they were hot. Think peppers in the summer time rippen better and have more spice. Therefore, only added two habies when I should of put in four. This chili recipe was medium hot with 2 habies. This chili is going to New Mexico with us into the mountains. Thanks for a great chili recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States