Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I saw this recipe after I found some overstock Habanero's at my local supermarket for cheap. I really didn't know what I was going to do with all these peppers till I ran across this recipe. I also didn't know what to expect. I love them however I didn't use the "cool down method" and they were spicy. A little too spicy for my wife.. But I loved them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Yes! everyone is so surpised when we make these cookies. We have been making them for about 6 years now. We also soak the peppers twice. 3 times is too much. Love love love these cookies, but make sure to have a side of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We used 4 small habaneros and the adults loved! It made 32 cookies about 2.5" in diameter. Too spicy for kids and we all love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
absolutely wonderful, and great for halloween :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These are outstanding! I used 7 Habanero peppers and did not do the milk bath. I wanted them to have some hotness but not be so hot that people only talked about the heat of the cookie rather than the taste. I also put a chocolate frosting on top to add dimension and give different levels of taste. I will make these often!! Thanks for sharing such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I brought these to work, and the miners LOVED them! I made them last night, and I threw some diced dried mango into the mix, because.. duh. mango goes great with habanero! anyways, there are some other store bought cookies here, havent been touched! haha. I wanted to let everyone know that because of the high butter content (awesome) they do melt out a bit IF you spoon them onto a hot pan. Spoon the batter onto cool sheets, and they will stay nice and round through out the baking :) I used the milk treatment on half of my peppers, and to be honest I won't next time.. they arent hot enough lol. They cool off a LOT after they are fully cooled. just fyi. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
While I love the concept of these (sweet w/a bite), I don't really care for the actual cookie base. My cookies spread quite a bit and were quite flat. I followed the recipe to a "T", with the exception of halving it when I didn't have 10 habaneros. These are definately a nice something different and are absolutely worth trying. If I make them again, I'll chill the dough and see if that helps eliminate the spreading/flat cookies. I did the milk bath once and the resulting cookies had a nice bit, but I would not call them "hot". THANKS for the recipe, RALEIGHL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
A little disapointed. I was expecting the habanero flavour to marry with the cookie, but instead, it just felt like little pieces of very spicy habanero inside a sweet cookie instead of choc. chips. It felt kind of weird and out of no where. No one who tried them thought they went well together, and we LOVE spicy! So that was not the issue. I used orange habaneros. I am still giving them four stars because the cookie part was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. By the way...Giving a recipe a bad review because it didn't instruct you to wear gloves while handling habaneros is like giving a bad review for not telling you to wear oven mitts while removing a hot pan from the oven. It involves some level of common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum. YUm. YUM!!! I was a major skeptic, but was won over after one nibble! I took a few down to my favorite watering hole and had a few guys actually "order" some - I have to make 8 dozen of these bad boys tomorrow! I did not use the heat reducing method, mostly because you just don't do that to a habanero. It's supposed to be hot. The only critical remark that I have to make about the recipe is that my cookies took more like 15 minutes to bake. Otherwise - perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States