Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Wow! Tasted just like our favorite greek restaurant! I baked mine in loaf form the day before, refrigerated & sliced thin & reheated the next day. I also substituted thyme for savory. (I read somewhere online it was a good substitute.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 a teaspoon of crushed red chili flakes because my husband likes things spicy. Instead of making burger-sized patties, I made small flattened meatballs and browned them in a large non-stick skillet. I served these with hummus, lettuce and tomatoes in warm whole-wheat pitas. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsis144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
We thought this was quite good! Instead of making small patties, I just mixed it all together and browned it in a frying pan. I also made a gyro sauce to go with it (2/3 cup plain yogurt, 1/3 cup finely chopped cucumber, 1/4 cup finely chopped onion, & some parsley).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My family thought there was too much of some spice. Oh well, guess I'll keep looking!?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Excellent flavor to the meat (I did increase the coriander and did not have any savory). The meat was formed into mini sausage shapes and baked in the oven at 400 for 12 minutes. After cooling a bit, they were cut lengthwise in half and put into pitas along with tzatziki sauce, red onion, tomato, cucumber, and lettuce. Totally terrific!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were pretty good. Not quite the gyros we get at the local restaurant but it still had a good taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
It was wonderful!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Sorry, we did not care for this at all. Didn't taste much like a gyro. I was so hoping it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I did not use lamb since I don't like it. My whole family loved this, son said they were AWESOME! Husband agrees not gyro more like a soulvaki burger, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
My boyfriend loved this recipe. I thought it was a little too Lamby, next time I will do a 25:75 mix for lamb to beef istead of 50:50. But the flavor was good. We will never need to go out for Gryos again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States