Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was yummy!! Instead of making into burgers, I crumbled it up and cooked in a skillet until the meat was browned. After adding the meat mixture in the pita I added tzaitzi sauce, onions, and feta. My picky eating daughter loved the pita so will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I really did not like this at all but my husband thought it was fine. Not sure what 'savoury' is so just added a stock cube. That might be where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
AMAZING TASTE! AUTHENTIC!!! I shredded the onions so the meat would form better patties, and I also shaped them to fit in Pita Pocket Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I thought they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I didn't have lamb so I used a beef/pork/veal mixture worked out fine just a little dry, lamb is more oily. I didn't grill the meat I cooked it in a skillet (with butter). It was well seasoned and tasted close to the real thing. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spryte
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Yum! Great gyro flavor. I added 1/2 tsp Penzey's Greek Seasoning. I made the patties oblong shaped and served them in warm flat bread with tzatziki sauce from this site, with diced onions and lettuce. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I didn't have all the spices so I used an all-purpose greek seasoning. I also omitted the bread and the recipe was fine without it. The gyros tasted just like the one's in the restaurant. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
We tried this recipe tonight but I guess we were hoping for a taste more like the original gyro meat, so we were disappointed. Thanks for sharing it though. It wasnt terrible, just not what we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm. We LOVED these! I used 1 lb. lamb and .5 beef (couldn't find lamb in a smaller pack) and omitted the savory because it was nowhere to be found! But still so very good. Next time a bit more salt, probably. We had them on pitas with tzatziki, onions and tomatoes. The texture was (obviously) burger v. true gyro meat, but the taste was spot on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The mixture was a little gooey, so I made gyro meat loaf instead. It was great!!! I did double the ingredients, and I didn't have savory, but i can't imagine it being better!! Make the sauce- its worth it. Bake for 50 minutes in a loaf pan at 350 F. Pour off any liquid/grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States