Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
AMAZING TASTE! AUTHENTIC!!! I shredded the onions so the meat would form better patties, and I also shaped them to fit in Pita Pocket Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I thought they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I didn't have lamb so I used a beef/pork/veal mixture worked out fine just a little dry, lamb is more oily. I didn't grill the meat I cooked it in a skillet (with butter). It was well seasoned and tasted close to the real thing. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spryte
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Yum! Great gyro flavor. I added 1/2 tsp Penzey's Greek Seasoning. I made the patties oblong shaped and served them in warm flat bread with tzatziki sauce from this site, with diced onions and lettuce. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I didn't have all the spices so I used an all-purpose greek seasoning. I also omitted the bread and the recipe was fine without it. The gyros tasted just like the one's in the restaurant. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
We tried this recipe tonight but I guess we were hoping for a taste more like the original gyro meat, so we were disappointed. Thanks for sharing it though. It wasnt terrible, just not what we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm. We LOVED these! I used 1 lb. lamb and .5 beef (couldn't find lamb in a smaller pack) and omitted the savory because it was nowhere to be found! But still so very good. Next time a bit more salt, probably. We had them on pitas with tzatziki, onions and tomatoes. The texture was (obviously) burger v. true gyro meat, but the taste was spot on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The mixture was a little gooey, so I made gyro meat loaf instead. It was great!!! I did double the ingredients, and I didn't have savory, but i can't imagine it being better!! Make the sauce- its worth it. Bake for 50 minutes in a loaf pan at 350 F. Pour off any liquid/grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This recipe was a refreshing twist to the "same old" burger. The flavors were great and it cooked up perfectly on the grill. Also, this recipe was very easy to prepare, so even the cooking rookies can make this with ease. I personally left out the savory, but next time I won't. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Very good. I followed the recipe exactly and also the sauce recipe from this website. I have done these on the grill and also in a skillet on the stove. Very good both ways. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States