Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was really good, but needed A LOT more of the spices. I think I doubled (I quit measuring) all of the dry spice except the salt..and may have added even more than that by the time it was over. I also added oregano (about 1/2 to 3/4 tsp) and an extra clove of garlic as many suggested and I'm glad I did. The only thing that may throw you if you're looking for a true "gyro" is the texture, which obviously won't be the same. Otherwise, the taste is really good...but I do suggest you SPICE IT UP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum! Used lean ground turkey, and just browned it. It was super easy and fast, kind of like a gyro taco. You have to serve it w/ tzatziki sauce, whatever recipe you like(I used Yia Yia's on the site). My fiance who NEVER likes to eat leftovers ate it for lunch and dinner the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
You will not believe how well this recipe went over on a group of MEN! I didn't have any lamb to use, and used ground turkey instead and they still loved it! I love eating them out of the pita bread too! I am always looking for a new and interesting burger recipe to cook out with in the summer and this definitely does that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Great recipe! Thank You!! The changes I made were out of necessity for lack of ingredience: I used all lamb; instead of savory I used oregano; instead of allspice is used 1/4 teaspoon of cinnimon. My family loved the taste. Also I made my own yogurt sauce (tsatziki) I have from a greek recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This tastes GREAT (especially with tzatziki sauce). Instead of making patties, we just cooked it in a pan like ground beef. But BEWARE!!!!!!!!! This will stink up the house something aweful. Best if cooked outside. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Made these last night after searching for a recipe for gyros about a month. They were good, but my husband said they were Great! He is enjoying everything I cook from this recipe site. I used a mixture of ground turkey breast and dark meat. Rolled them in to little cigars and then put that in between plastic wrap and patted them into thin strips. I also fried them on the stove in non stick cookware. Used the sauce that called for no cukes but 3 cloves of garlic my husband liked this better then the sauce that called for a cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The boyfriend and I really enjoyed this recipe. It tasted and smelled just like the gyro's we get at the Greek place. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good. My husband loved it. I thought it was very, very good, but for me, it didn't quite warrant five stars. All in all, a keeper of a recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was yummy!! Instead of making into burgers, I crumbled it up and cooked in a skillet until the meat was browned. After adding the meat mixture in the pita I added tzaitzi sauce, onions, and feta. My picky eating daughter loved the pita so will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I really did not like this at all but my husband thought it was fine. Not sure what 'savoury' is so just added a stock cube. That might be where it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States