Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We LOVE gyros, and this recipe is incredibly similar. We make the burgers as stated in the recipe, and serve with tomatos, onions, lettuce, ranch-cucumber salad dressing, as well as feta. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Very good! I didn't want patties so I cooked the meat in a big pan and added all the spices. Made with "Tzatsiki Sauce I", "Real Hummus" (to dip the extra Pita Bread), and "Gyros Dip" suggested by a reviewer (Mix some plain yougart, light sour cream, fresh mint, garlic salt, chopped cucumber, scallions, and tomato together.) Also, I used the "Tzatziki Sauce I" and "Gyros Dip" to put in "Gyros Burgers" and dip with tomatoes, cucumbers, and carrots. Last but not least, we had extra "Greek Chicken Pasta" leftover so we had some of that too. Yummy. Greek Food Rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We could not get enough of these burgers...I used all lamb rather than a mix of lamb and beef, and the burgers held together perfectly and were incredibly moist. The star ingredient was the allspice...you could taste it in every bite, but it was still subtle. Served on a huge pita with tzaziki sauce,diced tomatoes, and a lentil/rice salad on the side. We will definitely be making these again, possibly as little appetizer 'sliders' or topping for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I will probably increase the amount of seasonings next time I make it. The flavor was good, just a little weak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
These were great! Used all ground beef since I couldn't find ground lamb at my market. A nice change from the usual burger. Next time I'll try to make a tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Omitted savory because I didn't have any. Made long skinny thin patties instead of burger patties. Used much less onion and commercial dry bread crumbs. Grilled them and served on grilled naan bread. VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
leave out allspice or cut in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
If i were to rate this on the taste of the meat alone, this may have to be a 3 MAYBE 4... HOWEVER I could not find ground lamb anywhere so i ended up using 1/2 ground beef(sirloin)and 1/2 ground chicken breast so because of that I bumped it up a notch to a 4. I thought the burgers were pretty bland. EVERY spice/seasoning recipe called for went into the ground meat but still did not get much flavor. Dont get me wrong, after the burgers were put together on a greek pita with lettuce, thinly sliced tomato and onion, with a drizzle of Tzatziki sauce, it was great! I will keep my eyes open for ground lamb and will make these again. I will double all the spices next time. These are more like Greek Burgers and nothing like Gyros at all. Overall it was good, potential to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Oh how i wish i could have found ground lamb to use. I ended up making these with all beef since lamb is not avalible where i live they were diff but in a good way my husband loved them. TIP: make these as flat as you can they shrink and pull up during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayer, Arizona, USA
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
good and easy...and i love the tzatzidi sauce, smells terrific added a bit of rosemary but will try again without it next time just to compare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States