Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious with Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce and feta on pita bread. I doubled the recipe and couldn't find dried savory anywhere but it's great without. My roommate and I devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann Joseph Bedillion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
OMG! *both* of my kids said this is the best meal i've ever made "since they were born", and even the pint-sized guest gave it exuberant thumbs up. kids had them on warmed pitas w/ lettuce, tomato, black olives and sauce from "sean's falafel & cucumber sauce" on this site; i had mine sliced up as a salad topper with the cuke sauce as dressing and my bread on the side. we used all ground turkey and i cooked them on the foreman grill, because i'm counting calories. amazing, delicious, YUM! i'll be making 5# of these for quick from-the-freezer meals. **update** just made a stroganoff version of this, using ground turkey for the meat. cooked the meat & spices up together ahead of time & froze loose, for serving reheated, spooned over egg noodles, stirred in yogurt & lowfat hummus, & topped w/ shredded cucumber. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
These were great! Used all hamburger with seasonings. Lined a pita with lettuce put meat inside topped it with chopped cucumber, tomato and a little onion not to much onion because you don't want it to over power the rest. Used a mayo, sugar, mustard, milk sauce. The cucumber and tomato was what made it YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I had organic beef stew and lamb shoulder on hand, so decided to grind it to try this recipe. The only change made was in omitting the cumin.(just can't acquire a taste for this spice.) Substituted in it's place, 1/8 tsp of cayenne. Made a small burger to taste while I turned the ground meat and spices into meatballs to freeze. The flavor was marvelous! If anyone plans to make this into meatballs. grind on your fine blade. this makes a tighter meatball. I used the processor to mix the bread, oinions, garlic and seasoning then combined this mixture with the freshly ground meat by hand. 2&1/2 lbs of meat made 21 medium sized meatballs. Thank you chef Kenneth! Always looking for new taste experiences that don't call for obscure ingredients! Vivienne65
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I didn't have coriander or savory so I added 1 tsp. of Greek seasoning and these were AMAZING! I made the garlic feta dip and tzatziki sauce from this site as well to go along with the gyro burgers and served with extra feta, lettuce and tomato. These taste like authentic gyros with the added greek seasoning and have become a new favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Did not taste exaclty like Gyros, but it's MUCH easier and close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was a really good recipe...that reminds me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was REALLY good! The next time I make this I will not use as lean of turkey (instead of the lamb). It was just a little dry, so it needs a little more fat in there. Other than that, shockingly good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These were pretty good, but came out fairly dry. I recommend adding some plain yogurt to the meat mixture for added moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. I made it into a flat square meatloaf, baked it in the oven and sliced it thin. Then put the slices on a pocketless pita with tomato, onion and homemade tzatziki. Don't forget the Greek salad on the side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States