Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Oh my god, these were so, so good. I used herbed flatbread instead of pitas, and made the Tzatziki II from this website to slather the burgers with. Top with a little tomato and feta and make some rice pilaf on the side - you'll have the perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Thespices and combination of lamb and beef made these taste almost like our Greek Community Tarpon Spring's finest. Making them thin is also good advice. I used a Tzatziki sauce found at this site too and served Roditis dry rose (also Greek). It was great! Thanks for saving me a trip to Tarpon Springs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
It was really good. I have never been able to get that same taste like they have a those Gyros stands or greek restaurants till now. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I will give this 5 stars since it is the best recipe I have come across and my family loved it! It was also easy. I however thought it needed something... not sure what, to make it taste like the ones from a restaurant. I will try again and experiment with this one. thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Very, very good. The spice combination is spectacular. I put the mixture into my food processor to get a firmer texture. I then shaped into a very thin loaf and broiled in the oven. Slice very thinly and serve with pita, fried in olive oil, greek olives, roasted garlic and tzatziki sauce. Great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Used ground turkey instead of the beef and lamb and tortilla crumbs for the bread (which made it wheat free/gluten free). Wonderful flavor! I ground the coriander seeds myself using a mortar and pestle--the aroma and added punch is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I was in a hurry and had to get off to a softball game, so I mixed them before we left and that allowed the flavors to blend. I didn't have dried savory, so I used some parsley and oregano this time and they were fine. Next time I would like to have the savory to compare the flavor. I served it with Tzatziki sauce and sliced tomato. My family wants to know when we will have them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Loved it. Thanks so much. Have been looking for a recipe like this since I lived in Greece and had their version of "meatballs."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Wonderful. Just what I was looking for! Instead of grilling (which I'm sure would have made them taste even better) I cooked the patties on the stovetop. After cooking, I cut them into strips so they'd fit in the pita better. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
The whole family really loves this recipe. It has nice flavor and is a nice change of pace from your basic burger. Next time I make it though I think I will mix the spices into the meat and refrigerate for a couple of hours to let the flavors go through the meat better. I used only ground beef as we did not have lamb available and we loved them served with the suggested pitas and toppings and tazitki sauce. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States