Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe was just what we needed for our gyro fix! I used oregano in place of the savory. I made the Magpie's Cucumber Sauce on this site for the tzatziki. Also served on warmed no pocket pita bread and served w/ lettuce, tomato and onion! YUMMERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I think this was excellent, my wife and I both enjoyed it. No lamb, so I used all beef and doubled the recipe. Used some extra of each seasoning. I added a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to the mix for a better consistency in the meat. Shaped them into about brick shape and grilled them. With homemade pitas and tzatziki sauce, garden tomatoes and onions, it was excellent. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Wow! Tasted just like our favorite greek restaurant! I baked mine in loaf form the day before, refrigerated & sliced thin & reheated the next day. I also substituted thyme for savory. (I read somewhere online it was a good substitute.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Delicious! I added 1/2 a teaspoon of crushed red chili flakes because my husband likes things spicy. Instead of making burger-sized patties, I made small flattened meatballs and browned them in a large non-stick skillet. I served these with hummus, lettuce and tomatoes in warm whole-wheat pitas. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsis144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
We thought this was quite good! Instead of making small patties, I just mixed it all together and browned it in a frying pan. I also made a gyro sauce to go with it (2/3 cup plain yogurt, 1/3 cup finely chopped cucumber, 1/4 cup finely chopped onion, & some parsley).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My family thought there was too much of some spice. Oh well, guess I'll keep looking!?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Excellent flavor to the meat (I did increase the coriander and did not have any savory). The meat was formed into mini sausage shapes and baked in the oven at 400 for 12 minutes. After cooling a bit, they were cut lengthwise in half and put into pitas along with tzatziki sauce, red onion, tomato, cucumber, and lettuce. Totally terrific!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were pretty good. Not quite the gyros we get at the local restaurant but it still had a good taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
It was wonderful!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Sorry, we did not care for this at all. Didn't taste much like a gyro. I was so hoping it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States