Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Even with draining the meat as much as possible, this was a fattening dish (even when the ground beef portion is Laura's Lean brand!)... and the lamb taste is very strong. I ate the one serving I plated for myself, but discarded the rest. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
these were incredibly good. i didnt have any savory so i just looked up a substitute and used thyme in its place. 1/4 teaspoon of that instead of 1/2 of savory. added about 1/4 tsp of oregano, cooked them on the foreman grill, served on warmed pita bread with some tzatziki sauce. i had to fight myself to not eat both my burgers tonight. i wanted to save one for lunch tomorrow so i can enjoy it twice. these are definitely a keeper.. dont taste exactly like a gyro but close enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made this with ground turkey and had to pan fry them in olive oil since the grill was out of gas. Also was out of coriander. Was worried how it would taste without it- but we really liked them even without this ingredient. I'll have to pick some up at the store for next time. I used bread crumbs too and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours when mixed together. Served on warmed, wheat pita with the greek sauce (however it's spelled), tomatoes, red onions, and iceberg lettuce. With greek green beans from this site- it made a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! All the spices really made these burgers taste like a Gyro sandwich. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These are fabulous! I've made these several times already, but forgot to review. I always made these using all beef, no lamb because we don't eat it, and they are super delicious! This time I took a chance and tried to make these vegetarian, and had wonderful results. I changed the recipe to 7 servings, because I had two 14 ounce packages of Gimme Lean brand vegetarian "ground beef". I followed the recipe as written otherwise, but instead of grilling (it was raining), I added 1 Tablespoon of olive oil in a non-stick skillet and pan fryed these about 12 minutes, turning several times. These tasted just as good as using ground beef, although I will make these again with beef. I served these on warmed naan bread instead of pitas this time also. We do enjoy having this with the pitas too. Topped with romaine lettuce, tomato, red onion and Tzatziki sauce II from the site. We really love these, and make them often. Thank you for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
We made with ground turkey. Really delish. Nice change from standard ground beef recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
LOVED these! I doubled the recipe since I had one lb. of lamb, and one lb. of ground beef. It actually made 12 burgers. Made greek tzatziki sauce to go with it; perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
A delicious blend of spices. Since we try to avoid red meat, I made these using a pound of ground veal and dried bread crumbs. I also substituted oregano for the savory since I don't have savory on hand. I highly recomend these burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
We made this with my Mom and we just made the meat like taco meat, but in patty form. It was wonderful and the kids couldn't get enough. We bought fresh pita bread from a Middle eastern place ran home and made this. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
these are very good. I always make extra and freese, then just have to heat up the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States