Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I didn't want to make burgers, wanted more traditional Gyros so I used this recipe but the method from "Traditional Gyro Meat" to prepare the meat.It was really really yummy!!!Great blend of spices!!I just used about 1/8-1/4 cup of bread crumbs instead of toasting bread and making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Hughes Cormier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
my family loved this recipe... i used a lamb/veal mixture and did everything else the same... cooked over a charcoal grill. everyone said the grill gave it that extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Arlotti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
fantastic!!! Followed recipe exactly with the exception to sautee the onions and garlic in a little olive oil and I refrigerated mixture for several hours. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I did not care for this. I think that is because I have confirmed that I do not like lamb. However, my husband does like lamb and in fact loves shaved lamb gyros and he did not care for this recipe either. He didn't hate it, but doesn't care to ever have it again either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was just OK for me/us. Made this for my bf and I last night. We were craving gyros and didn't feel like leaving the house for them! I think my bf liked these more than I did (but I am picky sometimes...). I don't think they tasted anything like gyros (well, maybe a little...), but serving them on warm pita bread with tzatziki sauce, red onion, cucumber and tomato made them "seem" like the real thing. I couldn't find savory (thought I once had a bottle... I cleaned my spice drawer before Thanksgiving and think I might have tossed the 1+ year old bottle then!), so I subbed an equal amount of dried thyme ( my bf read on the Internet that thyme is the closest substitute for savory). I also added about a 1/2 t of dried oregano per another reviewer's suggestion. For the lean beef, I used sirloin, and, of course the lamb! It's too cold to grill outside, so I just broiled all patties for 5 minutes on one side and 3 on the other (and I had more like 6 patties, not 4). I sliced the meat "patties" into strips, added tzatziki sauce I by Serena Liew and all the fixins' to make gyro sandwiches. Served with a side of seasoned waffle fries this was a decent "homemade" substitute for the meal I usually get at our local Greek restaurant. For the amount of effort involved, I think I'll just go get the authentic stuff up the street next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Bill liked this / Me not so much Need to try with ground lamb & more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather de Vega
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are really good! I would have loved to make them with lamb, but it is not readily available where we live so I used only beef...I actually used ground beef with only 4% fat and eliminated the bread crumbs. Since I made it into a loaf, baked it, and then sliced it, I did not have any problems with it drying out. The flavor is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather de Vega

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very yummy. I couldn't find ground lamb so I used ground turkey as a substitute. I put the avocado tzatzki sauce (recipe on this site)on top with pita bread.I cut the meat in slivers to make it easier to wrap pita around and eat. Has a good gyro flavor that I always wondered how to create. My hubby is looking forward to trying it when he gets home from Iraq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I made the recipe as written and it was wonderful. Used pita instead of hamburger bun, and also made a tzitiki sauce (however you spell it!) from this website. I shared the recipe with a friend who also said she loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is just like the gyros that I get at fairs. I made a double batch and pressed 1/2 into patties and the other half into meatballs, which I will freeze and use later...maybe for a greek salad. For the patties, I topped it w/"yogurt sauce" (I was out of yogurt but FF sourcream worked just as well), veggies, and feta. Will definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States