Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Made with pork, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was great! I used all ground beef, since some in my family do not like lamb, and so I used a bit less bread crumb as well so it would not dry out. Otherwise, I did everything else as written. SO GOOD! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Perfect. My girlfriend and I loved the recipe. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I could not find any savory at the store, but otherwise made this per the recipe. It tasted okay, but very bland. I would have expected much more flavor, definitely more garlic to be like a gyro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
this was so tasty! the only thing i would have done differently was to add a little more salt.. i used ground turkey b/c that's what i had.. maybe if i used the ground beef and lamb it wouldn't have needed more salt (idk) i added 1/2 tsp oregano as TUNISIANSWIFE did.. served this in a pita with Good for You Greek Salad (on this site) on top.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I could not bring myself to add the allspice, as I was trying to think of something on my own, I remembered, I had looked up recipes for Gyros before & I had bought Fenugreek specifically for making these. I only used Lamb, added everything to the food processor, left out the bread crumbs and allspice but added about 2T Fenugreek and some Greek seasoning, molded them into strips and grilled them in a pan on the stove. They came out pretty good considering I just ate them with lettuce, sour cream and salt to save me a trip to the store. Hope this helps, I remember reading Fenugreek is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Wow--this is so darned good. Everyone raved, and they really do have a taste similar to a gyro. Try it...you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
We love this recipe (family of 5, including 8, 10, and 12 yr old). I substitute equal parts thyme/marjoram/sage for the savory and equal parts cinnamon/nutmeg for the allspice. I've also made it three ways, as burgers, as meatloaf (sliced), and "taco style". I think our favorite is taco style (stove top browned), because then we just spoon it into pitas. However, meatloaf style allows me to set my oven timer and walk away. We serve it on pitas with a gyro sauce, tomatoes, and lettuce. Feta too if I remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Nothing special for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I agree with some others that the flavor is okay. We followed recipe exactly EXCEPT we didn't have savory. Not sure if that would make a HUGE difference but none of the grocery stores around here had it. I am sure the local Amish store will have some. I think that it would be better too if the spices were doubled? Bought some more expensive pitas (in the bakery section) along with a tzatziki sauce recipe on here called Molly's Mouthwatering Tzatziki Cucumber Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States