Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Probably won't make this recipe again. Made it with ground turkey, just wasn't Greek enough. It might be better with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Will definately make again. Followed this recipe almost exactly, left out 1 teaspoon of pepper. VERY flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Not bad! While I'd prefer to eat this stuffed in a pita, the concept of making a "gyroll" was fun nonetheless. My hubs snuck a couple bites of the seasoned meat and commented that it was the best part. I agree. The perfectly seasoned lamb is reminiscent of authentic gyro meat. The feta was a nice addition too, but the zucchini seemed out of place to me (I omitted the olives because neither my hubs or I like them). Other than my one substitution and mistakenly rolling this like a jellyroll (literally), I have no "real" complaints. I have no idea why I rolled this like a jellyroll (I CLEARLY misread Adam's instructions...) or how I was even able to do it. :) Next time, I'll be sure to follow Adam's instructions correctly haha! Having said this, I do have two suggestions for improvement aside from correcting my obvious mistake. First, I would not sprinkle my roll with garlic powder without adding it to some melted butter first. Second, I'd substitute refrigerated Italian or French bread dough for pizza dough (I used Pillsbury brand pizza dough and although suitable, I feel it wasn't crusty enough) and bake NO LONGER THAN 20 minutes. My roll was perfectly done in 20 minutes - follow the suggested timeframe printed on your tube of dough and bake no longer than that. NOTE: It is IMPERATIVE that you drain your meat VERY well. If you don't, your roll will be soggy. Served with tzatziki sauce (a must!) and seasoned curly fries, this was a fun meal. Thanks for sharing, Mr. Pack! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
WELL..I think it's me. I wasn't too impressed. I think the lamb meat and fetta cheese were too much. Sorry, I really hoping I'd like this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I definitely agree with other reviewers who say serve it with tzatziki. This has become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
When I took that first bite, I was astonished. And not in a good way. First of all - it was WAAAY too salty. And that was after I cut the salt in half! Because feta cheese is so salty on its own, it is not necessary to add 2 tsp of salt to the meat. It's easier to add salt to something after it's cooked than to take it away. Secondly, it was missing something for spices. I can't put my finger on it - it just needed something else. I wish I could give this recipe more stars, but I can't justify it after having to throw most of it in the garbage. The only really great thing about it was the pizza dough - and that was my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was really good but I rolled out the dough and cut it into squares and then put the filling on and folded it over. Put a little bit of egg wash on it and baked for 15-30 mins. or until golden brown. I also would not add salt next time, lamb is very salty itself and adding 2 tsp was way too much. We made Taziki sauce to dip it in. LOVED IT!!!!!! Hubbs said were making it again as soon as the lamb thaws out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I think this could have been a phenomenal dish by omitting some of the salt from the lamb meat. The feta and black olives contribute plenty of saltiness to the dish. When I make this again I plan to at LEAST halve the salt, if not reduce it more. Also, the pizza dough gets quite thin when rolled out to their suggested dimensions. I would probably roll the contents in two sets of pizza dough to avoid this problem again (creating two separate rolls) Overall a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
meh okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
tastes fine. much easier to just make a pizza with whatever ingredients you want on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States