Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This turned out great. I would recommend serving with Tzatziki sauce. In the future I am going to attempt to make four individual rolls instead of just one. The only change I made to the recipe was to use more dough than called for. I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I omitted the salt and made it like a calzone. I was unable to find ground lamb, so I substituted ground pork. My husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I used ground turkey since I don't like lamb, but this was good. My husband loved it. However, it was kind of hard to roll the dough with all the stuff on it, and it was still doughy in the middle after cooking. So next time I'm going to make it more like a calzone--place the filling on one side of the dough and then just fold it over before I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
EXCELLENT!! I am very critical on Authentic Gyros when I go out and have never had a recipe to make them at home. When I was short on time and saw this recipe - WOW was I surprised! Followed the recipe almost to the letter, maybe a little less cumin and a little more oregano and awesome!! Always double the garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This is great. I used Pillsbury pizza dough. I also used ground beef. Left out the olives and zucchini because of hubby. You have to use fresh ground pepper with this-NOT the stuff you find on the table-real ground peppercorns! That is what makes the flavor. Easy and great recipe. Going to add to our favorite list. Oh yeah, we used ranch dressing because I was lazy about making cucumber sauce. Worked well with the flavors as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Yumm-ee. I kind of made this my own recipe because of my pickiness. I used all ground sirloin, no zucchini or olives, and added extra feta. I also had some egg whites in the fridge that I brushed on the gyrolls to help the garlic powder really stick. I also used the cucumber sauce from Sean's falafel salad with the gyrolls. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Great!!! We have tried both lamb and pork and enjoyed them both. I do think that the lamb gives it that true Greek flavour though. Try it with homemade tzatziki sauce. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
We really enjoyed this! We love gyros sandwiches and this was a nice alternative. I will try a different pizza dough next time. I used Pillsbury and it was okay, but I would have liked it a little crustier. Trader Joe's has a pizza dough in their refrigerator section I will try next. This had great flavor. One of my daughters asked if we could have chunks of lamb next time instead of ground, so I might try that too. Tzaziki Sauce is a must! Thanks for the treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I made my own tried-and-true pizza crust, so I had more than enough, but I have to say that I'm relatively unimpressed. This is a recipie for a super-meat fan or a super-lamb fan -- one slice is a big gob of meat and the strong lamb flavor overpowers just about all the other ingredients. I also recommend using a very high quality feta because the cheaper stuff is a bit gritty when melted. I reduced the amount of salt (1 tsp instead of 2), as suggested by some posters here, and found it needed salt. And, ultimately, I thought this lacked the requisite "zing" of gyros. It's definitley a recipie I will futz with, but it's pretty ho-hum the way it is. My husband didn't even come close to finishing his small portion. Too rich and kind of "all one flavor." I'd say: half to 3/4 of the meat, increase oregano and cumin, keep salt at 2 tsp., maybe add lemon juice and/or mint to meat mixture, high-quality feta, increase olives and zuccinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Good served with tzatziki or ranch dressing. I had trouble finding lamb, so I used hamburger and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States