Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Wow -- this was really, really good! It tasted like something I might get in a Greek restaurant! I didn't bake it in the dough. I made the meat and stuffed it into pita pockets with feta and kalamata olives on the side. I would probably never bake it in dough. This is so quick and easy. I plan on making it quite often. We heated the leftover meat in the microwave yesterday for lunch. My only complaint is that there is a LOT of fat between the olive oil and the fat from the ground lamb. I'm going to cut down on my olive oil next time. But really a great meat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
We give this a 4.5 stars. I used 1/2 lb. ground beef and 1/2 lb.ground pork. I didn't have ground lamb. I also didn't have the zucchini or olives. I took the suggestions of others and made "calzone style." I used the Tzatziki Sauce from this site from Dinah. It was wonderful. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
i used ground pork, couldn't find ground lamb and put it in a pita instead of the pizza dough. really good flavor and easy to make. a family favorite now. don't forget the tsati sauce it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Very yummy but definitely too salty (as others have also said). You end up with a less-than-messless calzone unless you use more pizza dough. Be sure to try the cucumber sauces elsewhere on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Good served with tzatziki or ranch dressing. I had trouble finding lamb, so I used hamburger and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Great!!! We have tried both lamb and pork and enjoyed them both. I do think that the lamb gives it that true Greek flavour though. Try it with homemade tzatziki sauce. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I used ground turkey since I don't like lamb, but this was good. My husband loved it. However, it was kind of hard to roll the dough with all the stuff on it, and it was still doughy in the middle after cooking. So next time I'm going to make it more like a calzone--place the filling on one side of the dough and then just fold it over before I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This was SO GOOD. We couldn't find lamb so we used ground beef and it was delicious. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Made this with leftover lamb from Easter and was very pleased. Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Great recipe! I made some minor modifications - I used a 1/2 and 1/2 combination of ground lamb and turkey to cut some of the fat, and used a basil and sundried tomato flavored feta. Really went well with tzaziki sauce. Big hit with the family, and I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States