Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
My sons like this so much that I make double batches. Delicious! Works well as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I've had this recipe in my recipe box and when I saw some ground lamb at my local grocery store I had to try it. Actually, I just made the meat mixture, which is perfectly seasoned, and made gyros out of it with pita bread, lettuce, tomato, thinly sliced cucumber and tzatzki (cucumber sauce -- recipe available on this site, except I used sour cream instead of yogurt because I didn't have any plain yogurt). I love feta but I left it out because I didn't have any and with the meat being so nicely seasoned and the tzatzki, it wasn't even missed, though I am looking forward to trying this "gyro" with the feta. I served these gyros with baked potato wedges seasoned with greek seasoning. Everyone in the family liked this, even my two teenagers. They like gyros and thought this has a similar flavor to the ones they get at the mall. It was different and unusual and a nice change from our usual line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Since I'm a vegetarian, I use fake meat crumbles in place of the lamb, and this is an amazing recipe. My husband and I love it with some tzatziki for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
We absolutely loved this. I used a basic, homemade pizza dough recipe and reduced the salt. I served it with homemade tzatziki (sp)and we felt it was perfect. It also reheats beautifully in the oven, so we were able to have this twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Absolutely Awesome!! I'm not one to like Greek food that much, so I was hesitant in trying this, but the entire family loved it! I used only half of the olives because my husband hates them, but to my surprise, he ate seconds without even realizing he was eating olives! This was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I made my own tried-and-true pizza crust, so I had more than enough, but I have to say that I'm relatively unimpressed. This is a recipie for a super-meat fan or a super-lamb fan -- one slice is a big gob of meat and the strong lamb flavor overpowers just about all the other ingredients. I also recommend using a very high quality feta because the cheaper stuff is a bit gritty when melted. I reduced the amount of salt (1 tsp instead of 2), as suggested by some posters here, and found it needed salt. And, ultimately, I thought this lacked the requisite "zing" of gyros. It's definitley a recipie I will futz with, but it's pretty ho-hum the way it is. My husband didn't even come close to finishing his small portion. Too rich and kind of "all one flavor." I'd say: half to 3/4 of the meat, increase oregano and cumin, keep salt at 2 tsp., maybe add lemon juice and/or mint to meat mixture, high-quality feta, increase olives and zuccinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I followed the recipe as written, but next time I'll make some changes. First, I will make my own pizza crust because the only kind I could find in a tube wasn't big enough to hold the filling. Second, I will make individual rolls. Third, I would add a lot more feta cheese... Mine certainly wasn't "mess-less", but mostly because I didn't have enough dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Very good flavor, but really beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
EXCELLENT!! I am very critical on Authentic Gyros when I go out and have never had a recipe to make them at home. When I was short on time and saw this recipe - WOW was I surprised! Followed the recipe almost to the letter, maybe a little less cumin and a little more oregano and awesome!! Always double the garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I had to rig this recipe a little and use ground beef and cheddar cheese, but hubby and I were impressed. It tasted like pizza without the oil from the sauce. To cut down on the oil from the meat, I cooked it in a stack cooker (looks like a strainer with a whole dish under it to catch the grease-tupperware). I put mushrooms in it and used a pizza dough recipe from this site (what else??), and it was spectacular!! Yummers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States