Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was ok. I followed the recipe, minus the olives and zuchini and extra feta. There was way to much meat for the pizza dough. Next time, double the dough or cut down on the meat. Also, made two versus one big one...next time I'll make 4 small ones. I used lamb, but I didn't think it made a big difference, could have used sirlion or beef. I made tatziki sauce to go with it.. made it taste like a real gyro. Overall it was good, just needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
A great recipe! We used ground beaf instead and it worked out just fine. Worked pretty well with fresh Zatziki and a bold red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Darlington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
And now for something different, these things were pretty good! We used homemade dough from my breadmaker for these, and they turned out quite well. I was a little apprehensive at first upon using lamb and almost opted for ground beef...I'm glad I didn't! They ended up a little bit burnt, but that was my own fault. Tasty nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Success! One of the first times my finished product looks exactly like the picture in the All Recipes cookbook! While I for one didn't taste any great resemblance to a gyro (hello, just cause you use lamb, doesn't a gyro make!), I thought this was well seasoned and it had a gorgeous presentation. I didn't have the "mess" rolling it up that others seem to be experiencing. Maybe the difference in store brand pizza crust? My new notes in the margin of my cookbook say: "Very good recipe. A little dry, so try serving with a Tzatziki sauce. Could use a bit more cheese. Next time try making into individual rolls or calzones for an even better presentation." If this had a little bit of sauce to compliment it and the right sides, this could be one of those "Wow Him" meals that I'll pounce on my fiance one of these days! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Yumm-ee. I kind of made this my own recipe because of my pickiness. I used all ground sirloin, no zucchini or olives, and added extra feta. I also had some egg whites in the fridge that I brushed on the gyrolls to help the garlic powder really stick. I also used the cucumber sauce from Sean's falafel salad with the gyrolls. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I make this frequently. I add Cavender's greek seasoning, use ground beef, and omit hot sauce. I sometimes make it calzone style, or serve with pitas. It's a great thing to bring to someone for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My family doesn't like lamb, but the concept of this sandwich encouraged me to try the recipe. I substituted small pieces of chicken breast that had been pounded thin for the ground lamb. Left out the feta cheese and served with a tziki sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was really good. We spent a lot of time in Germany and often ate Yufkas. this reminds me of that except Yufka's are made in tortilla like wraps. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was a very nice dish, though I did make some changes as well. As said earlier it's too much filling for the dough, so I used twice as much. I didn't have lamb on hand, so used ground turkey, and it worked very well. For the onion I found Vidalia-type onions work best for flavor/sweetness. I didn't have fresh garlic on hand, so used 4tbsp of minced garlic (store-bought in garlic juice and water kind). Zucchini was out of season when I tried it and couldn't locate any in cans, so left it out and used a little more black olives instead. I'm considering trying to substitute cucumber for the zucchini to see how it works out. The 2/3 cup parsley made mine a bit overly leafy in texture, so I reduced it to 1/2 cup and it worked out. All in all is a good recipe that my wife loved as well, and we've made it several times so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was super tasty! I really loved all of the flavors this combined. I made and used my own pizza dough, and it just came out delicious. It's so easy and so worth it to make, I'm sure I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States