Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This is great. I used Pillsbury pizza dough. I also used ground beef. Left out the olives and zucchini because of hubby. You have to use fresh ground pepper with this-NOT the stuff you find on the table-real ground peppercorns! That is what makes the flavor. Easy and great recipe. Going to add to our favorite list. Oh yeah, we used ranch dressing because I was lazy about making cucumber sauce. Worked well with the flavors as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is fantastic. I couldn't find ground lamb so I used ground pork. I omitted the onion, hot pepper sauce, and zucchini. I used fresh dough made in my bread machine instead of pizza crust dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This was soooo good -- and so filling. I will be enjoying it for days. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This was delicious, but as others said, way too salty. I will use maybe 1/2 teaspoon salt next time. The flavor was amazing, and I used the 'Pizza Dough' recipe (the no rise one) found on this website, as well as the cucumber sauce from the Grilled Gyro Burger recipe. God, SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I love this sandwich, I really do love making it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was pretty good. My very picky boyfriend gobbled them up like they were going outta style! I didn't put the olives or feta in it, as he doesn't like these things (I do, however.) I also used crescent rolls and made individual servings, instead of the pizza dough. I also used ground turkey instead of lamb. I covered them with shredded mozarella and put parsley on top. I liked all the spices; they ended up pretty yummy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Was very new and yummy, but a little too salty, perhaps because of the olives. But overall enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This recipe was great. My husband, daughter (who is 3) and I made it together. It was quick to put it together and we could hardly wait to dig into our gyroll. I would highly recommend trying this one. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I thought this recipe was excellent and if you like lamb and can find it, it is well worth it. I have also used ground pork and that was good too. I used the pizza roll in a tube and like that very much, but have also put it in pita bread and that was just as good. Topping it with Tzatziki is also worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States