Gyro Steak Salad (with Tzatziki dressing) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Very tasty! I have made this 2 different ways - one with Newman's Own and without. Both yummy! You can marinate the steak with just about any marinade you like and instead of the Newman's dressing you can use fresh or bottled lime or lemon juice instead. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Honestly, this recipe only gave me the idea of having a steak salad for dinner. I didn't use any pita and used a different Tzatziki dressing from this site (Tzatziki Sauce I). Other than that, the rest of the ingredients came from this recipe. I really enjoyed it. I had never had a salad with steak before this and I found that I liked it. The steak itself was really good, too :) I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I highly recommend this recipe! Very satisfying, flavorful, and a fabulous Summertime meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOR9
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I used left over grilled steak and the Yia Yia Tzatziki sauce,(I already had it made up). Not a steak eater, but those who ate said it was great and would make a great pita sandwich too. Just scale back on the lettuce and stuff it in the pita. And it is a lot easier to just toast the pita than to heat up the oven, especially since it was 107° today! I am excited to try this with grilled chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
We had this tonight using left over steak we grilled yesterday. It was fabulous. I had the ingredients, so I made my own lime vinaigrette instead of using bottled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. I had some left over cooked steak so I sliced it thin and made the cucumber-lime tzatzki dressing. I served it in a more traditional gyro fashion. My family ate it up and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5StarChick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made steak/gyro sandwiches from this recipe, but only used the steak marinade idea for the meat and then used the Tzatziki dressing recipe from this site. EXCELLENT choice for these sandwiches! BTW..I used sirloin and not flank/skirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Yum! I made the tzatziki, but ended up using a homemade Greek dressing on everything. Fresh red peppers add more crunch than roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was delicious! I ended up making my own marinade/vinaigrette for the steak and salad out of white balsamic vinegar, olive oil, garlic, lemon juice and herbs. The tzatziki was a little undersalted, so I added about 3/4 tsp of kosher salt. I also made the Pita Chips recipe from this website instead of grilling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States