Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
My whole family LOVED this! We substituted chicken breast to lower fat, and served over rice. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used chicken breasts and what I had: large can of diced tomatoes, can of diced green chilies, mozzarella cheese and it tasted great! The flavour of the sherry is hard imagine initially, but it does give the stew a deep flavour. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
If you like it spicy, you will love this! I substituted 6 breast with bone in and skin. Otherwise I followed it verbatim. The only real challenge for me was skinning the peppers. I find that roasting for about 30 minutes seems to make it easier to peel, much longer and it is too difficult peeling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is absolutely the best chicken soup/stew I have ever tasted. It is hearty and glorious! Don't scrimp on the sherry or the chili peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years now. Became a member just so I could finally rate this recipe. Absolutely delicious--a husband favorite! Thanks Colleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
What an exciting combination of flavors! Thanks for a delicious and different meal,Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I did not use the full 2.5 cups of sherry, as I live in the buckle of the bible belt and all I can get without driving 16 miles is cooking sherry and it comes in a 12 oz bottle. That being said, I filled in the rest of the liquid with stock, used one whole chicken breast and 3 boneless skineless thighs from the freezer and this is the best broth I have ever tasted. I almost did not add the chiles and tomatoes because it tasted quite good before the addition. The kids are a little bit freaked out at the large pieces of onion and tomato though... I will definetly make again, but maybe chop things smaller next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Excellent! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I love this recipe, the flavors are so intense! The only things I would change is I cut the pepper ammount in half ( it can make it very very spicy if you use too many) and I added rosemary and thyme for taste(about one tablespoon of each) I also added about one more cup of sherry and one extra cup of chicken stock. Not something for a picky eater though, but we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I LOVE this stew. I serve it with tortillas (either fresh or crunchy). I sprinkle Monterey Jack cheese in the bowl, scoop the soup over it and sprinkle strips of crunchy tortillas on top. Sour cream will reduce the spiciness as will the amount of cheese. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States