Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was outstanding! All the flavors blended perfectly. I was afraid the sherry would be overpowering, but it wasn't at all. I used poblano peppers (couldn't find regular chile or "aneheim" peppers, believe it or not)..they turned out great...they are nice and fleshy and complimented it well. Also I used a large can of peeled whole tomatoes cut in half, fresh vine-ripes were $3.99 per lb. I opted for the $1.99 can, and it was just fine. I topped with shredded jack cheese and a little cilantro over white rice to soak up the broth. We also enjoyed a nice cold ale with it, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
My whole family LOVED this! We substituted chicken breast to lower fat, and served over rice. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years now. Became a member just so I could finally rate this recipe. Absolutely delicious--a husband favorite! Thanks Colleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I have to admit that I was dubious about using so much sherry (especially in combination with the chile peppers), but this was really wonderful! The broth had a great depth to it. Given the high fat, sodium, and calorie content, though, we gave it four out of five stars. A good one for those indulgent days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
If you like it spicy, you will love this! I substituted 6 breast with bone in and skin. Otherwise I followed it verbatim. The only real challenge for me was skinning the peppers. I find that roasting for about 30 minutes seems to make it easier to peel, much longer and it is too difficult peeling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe! Instead of baking my own green peppers, I used one small can of chopped hot green peppers and it was perfect. The chicken meat was moist and delicious with a fantastic broth. Next time I might try chicken breast without skin to decrease the fat, but it was excellent with a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was the best soup I've ever had. My boyfriend and his grandpa are always asking me to make more. We had a house full of sick people recently, so I decided to tweak the recipe a little. On those days we don't have wine or sherry, I add about a cup of tequila and some grand marnier. It's a magical sinus-clearing soup that makes you feel REALLY happy afterwards. Thank you for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We found this to be really bland. Tons of salt and pepper needed and yet still bland. Definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is absolutely the best chicken soup/stew I have ever tasted. It is hearty and glorious! Don't scrimp on the sherry or the chili peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Could not have made a better meal while being stranded in the house all day because of a blizzard! I had to use what I had on hand so I substituted a small can of fire roasted tomoatoes for the four fresh, a tiny can of diced chilies for the four fresh green chile peppers, and mozzerella cheese instead of Monterey Jack. Still came out perfect! I made a pot of white rice and scooped some into each bowl before ladeling with stew and topping with a sprinkle of cheese. My six-year-old loved it despite being a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States