Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
My whole family LOVED this! We substituted chicken breast to lower fat, and served over rice. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
If you like it spicy, you will love this! I substituted 6 breast with bone in and skin. Otherwise I followed it verbatim. The only real challenge for me was skinning the peppers. I find that roasting for about 30 minutes seems to make it easier to peel, much longer and it is too difficult peeling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Simple, but good--the roasted chile gives it a bit of a kick in the back of the throat. Serve with crackers or tortilla strips--you'll get something pretty similar to most tortilla chicken soups (I mean that as a compliment). You could probably top with a slice of avocado and cotija cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I have to admit that I was dubious about using so much sherry (especially in combination with the chile peppers), but this was really wonderful! The broth had a great depth to it. Given the high fat, sodium, and calorie content, though, we gave it four out of five stars. A good one for those indulgent days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is absolutely the best chicken soup/stew I have ever tasted. It is hearty and glorious! Don't scrimp on the sherry or the chili peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Excellent! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years now. Became a member just so I could finally rate this recipe. Absolutely delicious--a husband favorite! Thanks Colleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
What an exciting combination of flavors! Thanks for a delicious and different meal,Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a nice-tasting stew with delicate flavors. We enjoy white meat, so I used 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken. I wasn't sure what kind of green chile pepper to use so got 4 Anaheims and that was perfect; there was not an indication in the recipe how long it would take to bake & blacken them, but mine were in the oven for about an hour; toward the end I turned the broiler on to get them going a little faster. It is a bit of a trick to peel them at that point, so I just ended up dumping the stems and seeds and scraping the insides of the chiles into the broth; these gave a hint of heat and nice flavor. I added about 1.5tsp salt to the broth (I used low-sodium broth!) Served with grated Monterey Jack cheese and a garnish of cilantro, alongside toasted "French Country Bread" & "Garlic Butter", both from this website. Thank you, Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is how much I LOVE this recipe - I took some to work for breakfast, and printed the ingredients so I can make another one tonight. By far the best chicken stew I have ever made. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States