Gyoza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
These turned out great! I did follow some of the other reviewers' suggestions to not precook the filling and that worked out really well for me. The texture and taste were more or less the same as the gyoza I've enjoyed in restaurants. I think the only other changes were that I used some black pepper and I had to use wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
excellent with a few modifications. needs more flavour and the mixture should be uncooked when filling the wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
We loved these! Only thing I did different is used salad shrimp instead of pork and after frying placed them in a steamer. I also added mushroom. Next time I will add celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I did enjoy them I added some prosciutto to the mixture just before it was done frying, this added some flavour. I would prefer a different dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I will NEVER buy store bought pot stickers again!!! These are absolutely delicious and very easy to make! Additionally the wonton skins are so delicate! I added a bit to the filling - some grated ginger, I grated the carrot so it was super fine. Added a bit of soy sauce to the mix. I would also recommend allowing the mix to cool thoroughly and then drain off any excess liquid. This makes a ton. As much as I love them I can only eat so many. Lay the the extras on a sheet pan and freeze for 30 mins. Then throw in a zip lock bag for storage. Add to a veg broth for an awesome soup! Thank you thank you thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I forgot to add the eggs to this recipe...but it still turned out great. Seems to be missing some spice, so I added 2 tsp of garlic chili paste and about a tbs of ginger to it. Good base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by f16mechanic
Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Has anyone ever baked the gyoza? I am trying to avoid grease and frying from our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
A lot of work but very good. I followed others' suggestion to add ginger and soya sauce. I cooked the meat before but alas, it does make it hard to fold properly. I would make again only because my son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Awesome. But I added more spices on my second batch because I added more cabbage, bringing it up to the recipe levels. Definitely will make again. Husband said they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I tried this. The recipe mixture itself is absolutely delicious and tastes just like the japanese restaurant, however, cooking the pork first makes for VERY difficult wonton filling of the gyoza. I have now looked up youtube videos and virtually every single one doesn't cook the meat first! I struggled and struggled filling and finally gave up. I wound up with about 10 workable gyozas. The rest is now in my fridge and I'm not sure what to do with it, other than just eat it or maybe make soup. Be forwarned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States