Gyoza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe ROCKS!!!!!! The only adjustment I made was what other reviewers suggested which was to cut the vinegar to 1/3 cup. We had an art show at our Church last Saturday night and I made gyoza along with this recipe for dipping sauce and people RAVED about it and requested the recipe... Thank you Rebecca!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was so good. Better than the resturaunt. I halved the recipe. I used regular soy sauce, but 4 cloves of garlic, and 1 teaspoon of ground ginger from the jar. In leiu of the sesame oil and crused red peppers, I used chili paste. It was a great dipping sauce for the pork and shrimp Gyoza, fried won tons, and crab rangoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I didn't love it. You definitely need to cut the vinegar down to 1/3 cup, but there is something else missing. Maybe a drop of honey or pinch of sugar? It was just a little too tart for our pot stickers and scallion pancakes. Will definitely try again, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This recipe is perfect! I love it as-is, but my boyfriend prefers less spiciness when we use it on our veggie gyoza. I make the full amount of the recipe in a small bowl, let the flavors meld overnight, then strain it into an empty soy sauce bottle. We pour it directly onto our gyoza (preventing waste), and the bottle goes into the freezer to keep until we need it again. I strain out the solids so (1) it doesn't continue getting spicier and (2) the freezer doesn't affect anything oddly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I'm only giving 4 stars because I added 1 T. of brown sugar, decreased the vinegar to 1/3 cup, and used 1 tsp sambal chili paste instead of flakes. I heated it in the microwave a little just to dissolve the sugar...really good stuff! Thought about adding more paste, but kids were eating this, so....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very easy and tasty! Save yourself from having to buy pre-bottled sauces, while also having more control over the spiciness level. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Awesome, just like my favorite Chinese place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I lived in Japan for 4 years and this is a fantastic recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Actually taste like what I wanted. So happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This is a great sauce taste just like the restaurant sauce so yummy and easy to make I also adjusted the rice vinegar and glad I did I also did not have fresh ginger so I used ground ginger 1 teaspoon and it worked out fine. This sauce is also good sprinkled over Lo meinThanks so much for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States