Guyanese Coconut Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wife27
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
DELICIOUS! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Good recipe but needs adjustment for GREAT recipe. First, the combined liquid of 2 eggs, 1/2 cup milk and the extracts is way too much. This results in pancake-like buns. I used 1 egg, 1/4 cup COCONUT milk and the extracts instead. Even this adjusted amount may still be too much. Add just enough of the combined liquid only until mixture comes together to form a biscotti-like dough. I used 1-1/4 cups of sweetened coconut flakes and 1 cup currants as well. Drop tablespoons of the dough on parchment-lined cookie sheets (do not compact) and press in 3-5 halved macadamia nuts on top. Bake as directed until tops are golden brown. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I haven't tried this recipie but I also make coconut buns. When making this recipie people shouldn't be afraid to add extra coconut or dried raisins or cranberrys. I'm sure this is a delicious recipies and perhaps I'll try it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I just made the recipe, but did use coconut milk and coconut extract in place of the almond. The flavor is great, but they came out flat as a pancake. I also put some in a cupcake pan, so now I guess you can call them a muffin in place of bun. Not sure about the reaction between baking powder & coconut milk -- will try again. from Foodie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used coconut milk and added more coconut (about 1 1/4) and it turned out just the way my mom's coconut buns come out!! LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
You need butter, cinnamon, and sugar also. Plus you can add raisins or cranberries if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with margarine and added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar and it turned out great. It was tastier than the coocnut buns that we buy at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Only a light coconut taste, I prefer something stronger, sorry! I would say these are more like cookies rather than buns. Still pretty good though! Just not what I expected...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States