Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
this meatloaf was one of the best i have EVER tasted! i did half beef and half sausage, it was awesome! i will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This recipe was very good. I have only ever made one recipe for meatloaf that was given to me by my mother. Pizza Meatloaf. But I was willing to try something for a little variety. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I tried this recipe for my son who doesn't like meatloaf. I thought it would be different but he said it tasted like every other meatloaf he's had. I thought it was okay but my husband, who likes pretty much everything, didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Not as good as expected, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
My husband just loves this recipe and quite frankly, so do I. The liquid smoke adds a great smokey flavor to it and the barbeque sauce is so much better than using ketchup. It is so easy to make too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was the first meatloaf I ever made. My opinionated mom and husband loooved it! I would just recommend not putting in the smoke flavor b/c you taste it in your mouth the whole next day:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a delicious meat loaf recipe. I decided to try it in my moms new bean pot. I formed it into 2 small loaves and it cooked for just one hour that way. I transferred it to a baking dish and broiled it for about 3 or 4 minutes after it finished cooking to crisp the bacon. I used 1/2 cup crushed bugles and 1/2 cup crushed potato chips instead of 1 cup crushed potato chips. Also, used italian style bread crumbs instead of the crushed crackers simply because I got tired of crushing things. Otherwise I did not change anything. I would say it is my 2nd favorite meat loaf recipe. My first being one I just submitted to this site today. Porcupine Meat Loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trinity, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Gross. Most disgusting "meatloaf" I have ever tasted. Did not like the smoke flavor. I would give this recipe zero stars but the rating system doesn't allow me to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eh Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is a very good recipe and a favorite. Great meat loaf is moist and dense, tender yet firm. Other readers have mentioned that their meatloaf was greasy. I found tips in Better Homes Cookbook a long time ago: * Key Point: Don't handle the mixture too much. Use your hands to aerate the meat. Excess handling will compress the meat, making the meatloaf tough. * For a nice crusty exterior and moist interior, don't use a loaf pan to hold the meat during baking. Use broiler pan or rack greased and lined with foil, top and bottom to cut on the mess. Cut slits through the top of pan to allow the fat to drain away as it bakes. Form the loaf first in a large round mold that your meat will fit in, flip it over and place on rack. When meatloaves are placed in a loaf pan, they tend to steam instead of bake. * Use an instant read thermometer! (You know why!) Cook beef and pork loaves to an internal temperature of 160 degrees F; ground chicken and turkey to 175 degrees F. * Cook chopped and diced vegetables before adding to the ground meat. The internal temperature of a meatloaf, while safe to eat, doesn't get hot enough to cook vegetables so you'll get a strong taste of raw onions, garlic, and carrots unless they're cooked first. * For best texture, don't use more than 3/4 cup of filler ingredients per pound of meat. Filler ingredients include chopped vegetables, bread crumbs, crushed cereal, oatmeal, etc. Good Luck! I hope this helps. Meatload doesn't last at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was not good. The crackers & chips made the meat the texture of cereal--could not really taste the meat. The Smoke & BBQ Sauce was way too strong for Texans. We could not eat it. Different tastes for different folks I think! I take 90/10 sirloin (good) meat, add about 1/3 cup Pace Picante sauce, 1 egg, crush about 10 saltine crackers--salt, pepper, garlic power to taste. Mix. About 350 for an hour and a bit--5-10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States