Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was the first meatloaf I ever made. My opinionated mom and husband loooved it! I would just recommend not putting in the smoke flavor b/c you taste it in your mouth the whole next day:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a delicious meat loaf recipe. I decided to try it in my moms new bean pot. I formed it into 2 small loaves and it cooked for just one hour that way. I transferred it to a baking dish and broiled it for about 3 or 4 minutes after it finished cooking to crisp the bacon. I used 1/2 cup crushed bugles and 1/2 cup crushed potato chips instead of 1 cup crushed potato chips. Also, used italian style bread crumbs instead of the crushed crackers simply because I got tired of crushing things. Otherwise I did not change anything. I would say it is my 2nd favorite meat loaf recipe. My first being one I just submitted to this site today. Porcupine Meat Loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trinity, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Gross. Most disgusting "meatloaf" I have ever tasted. Did not like the smoke flavor. I would give this recipe zero stars but the rating system doesn't allow me to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eh Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is a very good recipe and a favorite. Great meat loaf is moist and dense, tender yet firm. Other readers have mentioned that their meatloaf was greasy. I found tips in Better Homes Cookbook a long time ago: * Key Point: Don't handle the mixture too much. Use your hands to aerate the meat. Excess handling will compress the meat, making the meatloaf tough. * For a nice crusty exterior and moist interior, don't use a loaf pan to hold the meat during baking. Use broiler pan or rack greased and lined with foil, top and bottom to cut on the mess. Cut slits through the top of pan to allow the fat to drain away as it bakes. Form the loaf first in a large round mold that your meat will fit in, flip it over and place on rack. When meatloaves are placed in a loaf pan, they tend to steam instead of bake. * Use an instant read thermometer! (You know why!) Cook beef and pork loaves to an internal temperature of 160 degrees F; ground chicken and turkey to 175 degrees F. * Cook chopped and diced vegetables before adding to the ground meat. The internal temperature of a meatloaf, while safe to eat, doesn't get hot enough to cook vegetables so you'll get a strong taste of raw onions, garlic, and carrots unless they're cooked first. * For best texture, don't use more than 3/4 cup of filler ingredients per pound of meat. Filler ingredients include chopped vegetables, bread crumbs, crushed cereal, oatmeal, etc. Good Luck! I hope this helps. Meatload doesn't last at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was not good. The crackers & chips made the meat the texture of cereal--could not really taste the meat. The Smoke & BBQ Sauce was way too strong for Texans. We could not eat it. Different tastes for different folks I think! I take 90/10 sirloin (good) meat, add about 1/3 cup Pace Picante sauce, 1 egg, crush about 10 saltine crackers--salt, pepper, garlic power to taste. Mix. About 350 for an hour and a bit--5-10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Wish we had more stars for this recipe. I have a husband who loves to eat but refuses to give a compliment on anything. He absolutely loved this meatloaf & in two days there was none left even though I made a pretty big loaf. Everybody sit down...he said he really loved it & would I make this meatloaf from now on. I about fainted... Thanking you so much for this great great recipe. Mary Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This may be a 5 star recipe, but I didn't have any potato chips or liquid smoke (can never find that in my store), so I used all crackers. This was tasty and very moist. I threw in a couple of cloves of real garlic too because you can never have too much garlic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This meatloaf turned out very tastie! I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Yum! Everyone liked this at my house, but only used 1/4 of an onion. Also, more BBQ sauce wouldn't hurt...just drizzle some on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
sorry, I didn't really like this. I don't think the bbq sauce went well with it... the boyfriend didn't even go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States