Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was both the easiest and hardest meatloaf recipe for me, considering that I have never before made meatloaf. In all seriousness, this stuff is awesome! The only things I did differently were to "start" the bacon and then put it on with about 15-20 minutes left. I also added some shredded sharp cheddar on top with about 5 minutes left. WOW, that is about the only word I can think of right now. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Delicious! My husband is a very picky eater and he just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved it! I use baked chips, and they cooked up fine in the recipe. It's a great twist on traditional meatloaf, and everyone I've made it for has loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
LOVE THIS! I like this recipe better then traditional recipes. My boyfriend absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Like many, I have a very picky family. My son and I loved this meatloaf. My husband isn't a big fan of BBQ flavor and my daughter turned up her nose before trying it. I put sauce under bacon, and cheddar cheese on top. I'll make it again for my son and me and the picky ones can eat grilled cheese:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coopersville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Guitar Legend
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
First, I Didnt use Chips or Crackers, I used about 1.5 cups of Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs. Second, For the BBQ sauce I used one called "Cattle Boyz Original BBQ Sauce". It has a nice little kick to it. For anyone who complains its "Too Greasy", try cooking the bacon about 1/3 of the way on a George Foreman grill and eliminate most of the grease. I started cooking this when the lil' lady was at work, and it was about 20 minutes from done when she came in and I didnt even get a "Hello" I got a "What smells so fantastic?". It smelled great, but the real question becomes... taste... It wasn't dry, or moist, or crumbly.. it was perfect. It was a bit greasy in the bottom of the loaf tray, but whatever. This is going into my book of recipes for future use. To recap, only changes: Only used bread crumbs, not crackers/chips and I baked mine in a loaf tray, UNCOVERED..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Everybody loved this. I didn't have that much grease and it wasn't really mushy. We used funyuns for the chips. Next time though I will sprinkle in some cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Not a bad meatloaf at all! I followed the directions exactly. I will make again - my family really loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Outstanding! When I mentioned the word "meatloaf", my whole family wrinkled their noses in unison. One bite of this dish changed their tune, though! I've made this dish three times now, each with pretty substantial variations from the original recipe. There's tremendous latitude for experiments and substitutions here. I ditch the liquid smoke and onions due to family preferences. Twice, I've skipped the bacon (we're dieting, alas!) and increased the spices to compensate. The last go-round, I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I've added basil, used fresh garlic instead of powder, threw in a few pinches of cayenne pepper, and I've used BBQ chips throughout. Every time, the results have been awesome and the family has pounced on their dinner like starving lions! I strongly recommend making extra, because you will want seconds. If any meatloaf survives the initial feeding frenzy, leftovers are great on sandwiches -- and they'll be gone the next day. Yum! A quick note: meatloaf is a greasy affair. Take a disposable tinfoil baking tray, punch a few holes in the bottom, and place another tray on the rack below to catch the drained grease. It's important to let the 'loaf sit for a few minutes after cooking; if you cut into it right away it will be a little too moist and will tend to fall apart. Letting it rest for a moment will give you firmer, more appealing slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This came out so yummy, family loved it. Made it with mashed potatoes and gravy, on the side. Although it did come out rather greasy. Made it with BBQ flavored potato chips instead of regular and you can really tell a difference. Next time I'm going to go a little easy on the onions though. Hubby was picking them out. lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof2kitties

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Many, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States