Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Well, this is interesting. I know I reviewed this, 100% positive; but no review here. Summary: My "guys" weren't a fan. I don't remember any more details except that I thought these might be better as burgers instead of meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is my go to meatloaf recipe. I've made it countless times over the last year and my husband brags about it to other people and he rarely comments on food other than "it's okay". Now I add diced/chopped green/red peppers and onions to it and reduce some of the other liquids so it doesn't fall apart too much. Sometimes I mix meats and do half ground chicken or turkey if its on sale and it turns out great. If I don't have crackers or chips on hand bread crumbs work just as well. Sweet and spicy baby ray's barbecue sauce is the best. I also like to broil it at the end to brown the bacon up b/c otherwise it stays soft/chewy. It's best to use center-cut or leaner bacon w/o as much fat but it's good without the bacon too if you don't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The barbecue sauce makes this meatloaf sweet. I left out the liquid smoke (family preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
It was a little too sweet for me, but a good alternative when we want a different kind of meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Absolutely loved this!! The hubby didn't care for it tho, go figure lol but its a def keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My boyfriend and I loved the flavor of this recipe but would make some tweaks next time. We followed the directions except to uncover it for the last 15 minutes. Next time I make it I may put it on parchment paper because the bottom got a little more cooked than we like. I would also skip the bacon. It made it a little oily and the top didn't get the nice crust to it. I will increase the cracker amount slightly so it holds together a little better. The flavor was excellent and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This meatloaf is really good. I used bq potato chips and cr.cheese nips for the crackers. It was really different from my usual meatloaf in a good way. I double the recipe and freeze one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked it! I followed the directions almost exactly except I spread extra BBQ sauce on it before I put the bacon on, and I left the foil off for the last half hour (The bacon was cooked nicely). Next time I will put more BBQ sauce under the bacon, maybe cut down a bit on the chips/crackers (texture wasn't meaty enough?) and maybe add a little pre-cooked bacon into the mixture itself! I will also put the foil on a little more tightly as the edges almost burned (When I took the foil off the last thirty minutes I placed a strip of foil around the edges to prevent them from burning.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahiti Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I HATE meatloaf but this was something else! It was so good and spicy and delicious that I didn't even know I was eating meatloaf. I usually have to drench meatloaf in ketchup to gag it down, but with this I ate it as it was...no ketchup needed. Definitely approved by this guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My husband and our friends from Italy loved this. I was so glad to have made this for our dinner. I wanted to make something authentic to America and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States