Gurkensalat (German Cucumber Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Ausgezeichnet! A very similar recipe has been used by my family for a couple of generations. Only major difference is they use white wine vinegar and omit the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This recipe is one of my husbands favorites! He would be happy if I served it to him with every meal. I also add fresh garlic to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
My grandparents were German and my grandmother used to make this salad with white vinegar, dill, sugar, a little water, salt and pepper and a tiny bit of vegetable oil. It was delicious but this recipe is awesome. From now on I will make this recipe, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very good and refreshing! I used white wine vinegar. My onions added their own touch of sweetness. I cut back on the paprika, but later noticed that by mistake I mixed it in instead of garnishing with it. Oh well, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Cucumber salads tend to be somewhat the same. With this recipe I was interested in the impact the addition of paprika would have on the taste. I made it per the instructions but left out the sugar because I don't like it sweet. In spite of not adding the sugar it seemed the paprika did add some sweetness of its own. I enjoyed this immensely and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very authentic and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Wow my mom was German and I grew up on this! So happy to find this recipe as it appears to be the one Mom used. Really good and I agree that it is best if allowed to marinate a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missing_mish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was a good basic recipe but was way sweeter than the gurkensalat my Bavarian mom would make. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I used baby cucumbers and green onions. This had a weird texture to me. I made this early in the day and at serving time, drained most of the liquid out before stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is kind of like what we serve at the German restaurant I work in. I don't like the addition of paprika, and we let our cucumbers cure for quite a bit longer than half an hour. I'll stick with our recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States