Gummy Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I used lime jello, and it came out really really chewy. but overall it was really yummy! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I have made these several time now and found the following changes to be very helpful. To get a better flavor add a tsp (or two) of flavoring the same as the type of jello used or one that works well with it.If you don't have candy mold small(bonbon size) paper cups work well, use a small amount in each cup enough to cover the bottom. I set mine in the freezer, then bring to room temp and you can peel them out of the cups. I also used shaped muffin cups they worked out but I think the smaller candies work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMcLellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was really good i sprinkled some koolaid from a packet to make them sour YUM. i used berry favored stuff thank you for sharing!! oh yhea it is hard to just cut with a knife so i just pulled it apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have to agree with other reviewers they are more rubbery than gummi but, I had all the ing. and they were quick, and good. I used a spoon to fill the molds and to my surprise it was very easy and a pizza cutter to slice the sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Photo by Bluestrose
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Being the only gummy option on this site makes this worth the try. I used regular strawberry jello (not sugar free) which may have made it a bit stickier than if the directions were followed. If you take this route, avoid using glass as it will glue itself to the plate. I let it set in a 9 by 9 Tupperware then cut it into strips. Be sure to have a SUPER sharp knife for this process. Normal steak knives will only make you frustrated, which also makes me think cookie cutters won't work either. The family votes that the thinner strips were the best, the thick ones did come off as rubbery. It was easier to work with while cold also, if you have a big batch, only take out what you are working with or it becomes difficult. The taste was perfect and the thin strips were as enjoyable as any store bought candy (if not more so!). FYI, this recipe does not have chemicals like store bought candies, it will need to be kept in the fridge or eaten in short order. If you do it right it wont be around long anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It was okay. It turned out beautiful, came out fairly easily, and was quick. We made two trips to the store late at night to make these, but the taste is so weird! Too sweet or sour or something. It seriously does look very pretty. My friend and I used rubber flower and heart molds... maybe I will post a picture of our pretty creation. Thanks for the recipe any way. They are edible, and like I said they are just soooo cute. And being the only gummy candy recipe on this site. Make them, maybe use 1 1/2 packs of jell-o and six packs of the un- flavored stuff. Thank you very much for posting it! By the way... I'm 11 and my friend is 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
We had no problem. Cooked it a little longer. My 3-yr-old practically made it herself and wanted to eat it all herself too, but... :) We used strawberry jell-o, a glass 11x7 to set, and then cookie cutters for tiny shapes which surprisingly was the only hard part. Neighbors loved it too! We might make them on a stick next time. Chewy, but everyone loved them. Fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayla68
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Thankes for the recipe my kids loved it . I made it twice the second time I added karo corn syrup and boiled it longer . I think I will add sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayla68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not impressed. My kids wouldn't touch them. What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miliani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I used cherry and it was was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States