Gumdrop Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have this exact recipe from another source except in this other recipe it calls for one envelope of unflavored gelatin. I made that recipe according to directions. Like these directions. They came out great. They were like those orange or raspberry sticks candy. You know the ones that are like jelly coated in chocolate. I thought they weren't like gumdrops. But they really were. I bought a bag of gumdrops that were actually fresh and they were exactly like the ones I made. So my recommend addition is the envelope of unflavored gelatin. I used Knox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My 11yr. old and I made these yesterday/today even though I was hesitant that they'd turn out after reading the reviews. They turned out great!! We used Wild Cherry jello, unsweetened apple sauce and was sure to do a rolling boil of at least 1 minute between each step, like the directions said. We sprayed a square glass pan, poured the mixture in and put in the fridge overnight...actually about 18 hrs. We cut it into small squares while in the pan and used a spatula to take them out, then rolled in sugar and set on waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe maybe for others was good but not for me, I am sorry but this was the messiest, sweetest, sour recipe I have ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made these and my husband loved them. The only problem is that I know how to make candy so I tweeked the recipe so that it worked. By the way, all you have to do to keep the stuff from sticking to the pan is greese it a lot. They are yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I never use a recipe without first reading reviews, but this one I used before reading. They sound great, but like the other cooks, they didn't set right. I followed recipe to the "T" and I got a wet, mess. I cut them in the pan and took out a few, even if they were rolled in sugar, they would have been a sticky mess. Plus, using the size pain indicated, they were only, maybe an 1/8th inch thick. And I did come back to a full boil in between each addition and then boiled for a minute after each addition. I'm sorry, this just didn't work for me. Perhaps using light corn syrup instead of apple sauce and bringing to a hard ball stage 250-265 degrees might develope something that would work better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I am sorry. I usually don't even leave a rating if I find something bad but this was not good at all. I followed the improved directions and I ended up with a jam-like sticky mess. I found it was too runny after setting up overnight to even cut it let alone into the "shape" of a square. Maybe add a package of unflavored geletain? Sorry Tresa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
A note to correct the directions (they're not exactly how they were submitted). The mixture needs to come to a full rolling boil for at least one minute in between each step. After chilled, these are VERY sticky and cannot be "tapped out of the pan", they need to be taken out a few squares at a time with a spatula, and then generously rolled in sugar. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This candy never really firmed up enough even after I chilled it overnight. It was MUCH too sweet and didn't really have the right texture for a gumdrop. It is also physically impossible to "tap" out of the pan. I was having a serious craving and this didn't satisfy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States