Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Outstanding recipe! Took reviewers' recommendation to make roux with butter (actually low fat margarine), add a jalapeno and some broth (only 1/2 cup as I like it as a stew). Great flavor and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Haiku: "Holy amazing! Spicy, can't-stop-eating-good. Followed some reviews." Adored this dish, and took helpful tips from many of the reviews, such as swapping mushrooms for celery, adding chick. broth (1 c.), adding 1/2 tsp. dried thyme, swapping hot sauce for 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and I also threw in some turkey smoked sausage. Out-freaking-standing! Not sure why there's so much discord over preparing the roux; perhaps there are different methods, but I've found the med. heat (oil, not butter, and flour), constant stir, not for a measured amount of time, but til it bubbles and darkens (deeper than peanut butter, which might as well be a gravy-thickener and not a true roux) always works for me. This "gumbo" was the perfect heat, texture, and taste, and I look forward to making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this for a group of 6 and everybody absolutely loved it. I will definitely be making it again. I made brown rice for this to be put on top of. It made the dish go further and the flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Easiest Gumbo ever....and quite delicious!!!! Next time im going to add some shrimp in for the last 20 minutes of simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
it was good but i needed to add about 3/4ths cup of water to keep it from lumping up on me while simmering, and at first i served it over rice, and then i just mixed the cooked rice in with it for delicious flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Tomaras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I left out the mushrooms and hot sauce. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Made this last night for my husband and me, it was a tad spicy, very tasty, he loved it but a bit too hot for me. All in all it is a great recipe and I will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WindRider
Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wow! This is so simple and amazingly delicious! I used leftover roasted chicken, so this came together in a snap. The flavors are rich and complex. I did use butter instead of oil for the roux, fresh mushrooms, and 2 stalks of celery in addition to the other veggies because it needed using. Absolutely delicious and easy enough for a weeknight meal if you use leftover chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe EXCEPT for the 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, I am a non-spicy person and it turned out perfect for me. I did use the Tabasco sauce as stated. It would be wonderful with shrimp and sausage. Will make again for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States