Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Received raves from family. Slight changes. Mushrooms were not necessary. Added File powder to give it added zest. Because of family taste buds, I left out the hot sauce. The tomatoes with chili peppers was hot enough for most. The others added their own additional hot sauce or cajun seasoning. Also used brown rice for added nourishment and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
As written, this recipe is a solid 4 stars. With the modifications - celery instead of mushrooms, cayenne pepper and smoked sausage - this is 5 stars! Don't forget to add some Cajun seasoning, too. The wife went for seconds - that told me a lot right there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jojerose
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Pretty tasty. I added a 14.5 oz can of chicken broth, used a fresh jalapeno with a can of diced tomatoes, threw in a couple of bay leaves, 1 tbsp of thyme, and added sausage to the chicken. I made the roux out of the sausage drippings with a little butter. If I was cooking just for me I would omit the sugar but my daughter likes the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I used fresh mushrooms and had to leave out the onions b/c my husband doesn't like them. So could have even been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent!! I will be making this alot! It wasn't too spicy for my 7 year old and she really liked it too! I took the advice of others and added a can of chicken broth, omitted the mushrooms (for my taste), used 2 cans of tomatoes with green chiles, chose to use a red pepper, added some Thyme and smoked sausage and served over rice. So so good and easy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Made this recipe to use up my leftover green pepper slices from a veggie tray. After reading a few reviews, I chose to substitute celery (also leftover) for the mushrooms. Didn't have tomatos with green chili peppers, so used a can of tomatos with lime and cilantro. Also, added jalepenos from my garden and some various other peppers frozen from the summer. Agreed with others that it needed chicken broth. For some odd reason, this recipe tasted sweet. My husband commented that it tasted like it had pickle relish in it. I think I will try it again and leave out the worcestershire sauce and soy sauce. I think this recipe just needs some tinkering with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allmanec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
deeeeelicious! It was pretty thick so I added 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth as suggested by other reviewers and I added 1/2 tsp of thyme and omitted mushrooms. Everything else as written. Served over rice and oh so yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I used rotel and some stewed tomatoes to increase liguid. Butter and oil as suggested Threw in some frozen small whole okra instead of mushrooms and served over rice. Added cajun seasoning, we like the spce.. OH YEAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! Added some cooked shrimp during the last 5 min. and served it over rice. Loved the spicy flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe, so easy and really good. I followed the modifications of Paul Schulz, no mushrooms, add thyme and skip the hot sauce, put in cayenne, (just a little will do). I loved it and my boyfriend who lived in Louisiana for a number of years loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States