Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! I followed some of the advice in the other reviews and made the roux with butter instead of oil. I also omitted the mushrooms and used extra chicken broth. Some of my own additions were andouille sausage, shrimp, celery, Cajun seasoning, thyme and some chili powder. I add some rice, too. This is by far one of our favorite meals, especially when we let it simmer for hours on the wood stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
4.5 Stars: Using other reviews, I added one can of chicken broth. I also added some andouille sausage. It was a hit for our Mardi Gras dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very Nice - Thanks to other reviews, added some sausage and shrimp, okra, celery. DOUBLED the recipe - Great the next day. Used the Store-Bought rotisserie chicken and made broth with the remains after stripping off the meat. Added perhaps a cup of the broth. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Good simple quick recipe,only change I made was adding 1 cup of chicken broth and made it more spicy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
LOVED it! I did add thyme and cayanne pepper (i love spicy food!!) and it hit the spot. I am definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I confess to altering a bit.. I sautéed the onion, pepper and fresh mushrooms prior to making the rioux. I also roasted the chicken which gave an additional depth of flavor to the dish. I also added roasted red peppers and about one cup of wine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I only tweaked this recipe slightly to make it a little spicy .... and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
i thought this recipe was missing something. it wasn't super flaorful and didn't really taste like a gumbo to me. it certainly wasn't bad in any way, but it was just so-so. i don't think i'll make this again, although it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Quitta
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
THIS WAS A GREAT QUICK GUMBO RECIPE. I ADDED ANDOUILLE SAUSAGE AND OKRA TO IT. IT TURNED OUT DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very good! Was tempted to add chicken broth as others but in the end found it wasn't necessary. Once it simmers the liquid comes out nicely. Adding broth would have made it too soupy IMO. One thing I did that I think really gave it a lot of flavor was cook the chicken with Emeril's Essence (homemade). Used a heaping tablepoon's worth. Very impressed with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States