Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Grem209
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
So, modified b/c lack of ingredients in the house... We used coconut oil instead of olive oil, added black beans and okra, no chili peppers no peppers no sugar no mushrooms no onions. My guy ate it all! Bummer, no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Really good. Per other comments we skip the mushrooms, salt, and hot sauce. I don't like any of those three, and the Ro*Tel tomatoes are spicy enough for me. Add celery, 1/2 t. thyme, and 1 can chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Fantastic! I used leftover chicken from a roasted whole bird. I added smoked sausage, which I really liked. My husband requested that we add shrimp next time. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was great! I only had a red pepper, so I used that instead of green. Added a can of diced chiles and a small can of olives - May have made it less authentic but it was still tasty. Also added a 10oz can of chicken broth after reading reviews, but we wanted it like a stew, not a soup. The longer you simmer, the tastier it gets. Great use of cooked chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. After reading all the reviews over the last few days, I made my adjustments. I used half the butter(not oil) and flour which I used when sauteeing the onions, peppers, garlic, and sausage. Because I used only 2 tablespoons of flour, there was no need to add any chicken stock. I added 1/4 tsp. of chili powder, Creole seasoning, and ground thyme. I cut the Worcestershire and soy sauces and salt in half. I did not add sugar or Tabasco. I simmered the pot of all ingredients for 30 minutes while I made the white rice. When I initially tasted the juice, it didn't seem to be spicy enough. However, after 30 minutes, the flavor and spice were perfect! My husband and I loved this dish. I'm the more critical of eaters. I wouldn't change a thing I did. We have leftovers for one more bowl apiece. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Novick Feuille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight without reading any reviews first. That's something I don't usually do, but I was running late, and it looked good and easy enough. It was delicious! I did use butter instead of oil with the flour. I think it makes for a tastier dish, and I also added a couple of cups of chicken broth because it was way too thick. After simmering for about a half hour, covered, it was perfect. Will definitely make again when I have more time, add some sausage and shrimp and more spice for a company-worthy main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I was borned and raised in LA and this is really close to home. I only added some thyme, Zatarain's creole seasoning, sausage, and crushed red pepper because I like a lil kick to mine. I also felt it wasn't enough salt and pepper so I added more of those as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
followed the recommendations such as using one and a half cup chicken broth,omitting the mushrooms although next time I will add them as I think it would go well. I also pre cooked the lentils. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was a hearty dish that was rich in flavor. We enjoyed having this tonight. There are a couple of changes I made that were great suggestions from other reviewers. ½ tsp of dried thyme was used and instead of a few dashes of hot sauce, I used ¼ tsp cayenne pepper. This brought a delightful warmth. Because I served it with rice, I wanted more of a saucy element. I felt 1 ½ cups of chicken stock went well here. This was very filling and pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States