Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I am a Religious Cajun & Creole Cook and have been cooking Chicken Gumbo for many years. This recipe is very good. I would delete the mushrooms, add some Cayenne Pepper in place of Hot Sauce and add 1/2 tsp. dried thyme leaves for more spice. Now you are close to Creole Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
676 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Outstanding! Very flavorful. I omitted the mushrooms and added celery. I also took the advice of others and added 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. It made for a better soupier consistency. Also, in my experience, roux made with butter is much better than making it with oil. You can even use products such as Smart Balance if you are watching fats and cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This dish was very good. My husband even went back for 2nd's. The only thing better was if I had made Louisiana style Gumbo. The only part of the recipe I would change is when making the mixture of flour and oil is to stir continously over low to medium heat. When followed the directions I burnt the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
definitely a keeper. but, you MUST use 1 can of chicken stock. otherwise, it will be too thick. also, i prefer to use fresh vegetables. i used fresh shitake mushrooms and tossed in a couple of half tomatos. I served over brown rice. and to make sure that it doesnt stick to the pot, spray the pot with pam before heating the oil and flour. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is a five star recipe with some alterations. First, add some chicken stock, about 1 1/2 cups. Also, to kick it up some, I cut up a jalepeno and simmered it with the other peppers. I added a little of cayanne pepper and the finishing touch- a little sherry. Magnificent. Serve over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was really good, with a few changes. First, like alot of others have said, it doesn't take 5 mins for the flour/oil to brown. You should do it over low/medium heat. I also used fresh mushrooms, a red pepper instead of green, and added about 1 cup of chicken broth. I also threw in some smoked sausage & doubled up on the sauce/spices(except for the garlic). I served over brown rice & it was very tasty! It reminds me of one of our fave South Beach diet recipes that also includes Bacon & Shrimp...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
We actually made a few changes to this receipie which gave it a real nice kick. To make it a bit more soup-like we added 2 cups of chicken stock. We also added kielbasa (chirozo would work as well!), and threw in a few more spicies because we like it flavorful and spicy. This turned out to be one of our favorites, and we'll definitly be using it more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I made this and added a can of black beans to it. Everyone i gave it to loved it so much! It seems that this dish has a callback now :) It would also be great with a can of chicken stock added too, and served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Did as was suggested and added the chicken broth, also added some polish sausage, and that was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I, too, omitted mushrooms...just didn't seem right for the recipe. I didn't have Worcestershire Sauce, so I just used three tsp of soy sauce and I added Creole seasoning. My husband had thirds. It was a bit spicy for the kids, but because I served it over rice, it was tolerable. I will make this again...especially on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States