Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
We really loved the flavor of this dish. I did alter it a little so I will put it out there for everyone how I altered and let them decide. 1st I used some canola oil and some butter (about 4 tablespoons of each with the flour. I only let it bubble for 2 or 3 minutes 2nd at this point is was a little too goey so added about 1 cup of homemade chicken stock. 3rd I used frozen chopped onion and green pepper about 1/3 cup each (defrosted in the microwave) Mixed with the roux and let simmer while I got the rest of the ingredients together 4th-Added the rest of the ingedients as stated, but omitted the salt. 5th I added about a half a pound of diced smoked sausage and about 1 Tablespoon of cajun seasoning blend. Let this simmer for about 10-15 minutes. Served over rice for hubby and noodles for me. I think I said this before, but I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good...I was excited to make this for Fat Tuesday, but when it was coming together, I was like "ewwww"...so I just put a teeny bit on my plate over some rice and was wishing I had put more. It was a little spicy, but that's what Cajun cookin' is, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daroyboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good, easy recipe. I did omit the mushrooms and added celery. The consistency was a little dry so I added some chicken broth.I brought it up a notch in seasoning, using cayenne instead of hot sauce. I also added a little Creole seasoning. We'll be celebrating Mardi Gras with it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this last night... my husband and I both LOVED it. I did omit the mushrooms, peppers, soy sauce, Worcestershire and used Emeril's "Essence" (the recipe for that is on Food Network) in place of all the spices ( I guess I made something different but something that was inspired by this recipe) I added a can a green chiles and a can of diced tomatoes...I also had to add a little water, it was a little too thick for our taste but I served it over brown rice & it was Yummy! He even took the leftovers to work for lunch today - and he NEVER does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanishize122
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe! The only thing is you have to watch the flour mixture and stir it constantly over low to medium heat or it will burn. I left out the mushrooms, and use a little sriracha sauce instead of regular hot sauce, since my husband is not a fan of spicy food. It was just the right amount of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishize122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Followed recipe exactly..so bland!! Lucky I had some Buffalo wing sauce to dump in to give it some taste. I also doubled soy etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Everyone went back for seconds! I added chicken stock (quite a bit) and chorizo sausage, as well as substituting the hot sauce for cayenne. Instead of tomatoes with chilli pepper I added regular chopped tomatoes and two habanero/Scotch Bonnet peppers. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe would be great but for a few things. For one thing, the name needs to be changed. It should be Creole Style Chicken Gumbo. For another, Worcestershire and soy sauces need to go. And, please, NO sugar. Mushrooms and chile peppers are okay. Those things do actually grow in South Louisiana and could realistically be in a gumbo, though Cajun gumbo is more likely to have the peppers. Also, please don't sprinkle with filet powder. That ingredient really doesn't taste all that good and its only purpose is to somewhat thicken the gumbo -- not needed here unless you leave out the roux. Then, it should be stirred in at the end, just before serving. Also, even though celery was not originally in Creole gumbo, it has been for so long now that it is pretty much expected. And yes, definitely add more liquid. Gumbo is a soup, not a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Sounds great...I have been looking for a way to use leftover turkey and this might just add the kick that it needs. I agree to either omit mushrooms or at least use fresh. Also, I will be adding the stock as I want this to be more soupy than not. I always brown flower with butter and for that hot kick either add cayenne or some jalapenos. Probably some Zatarain seasoning. I don't usually use okra but in cajun food I like it better than usual. I think that would add a bit of cajun to it but not a necessity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Also check out "Basic Creole Sauce" on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States