Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good...I was excited to make this for Fat Tuesday, but when it was coming together, I was like "ewwww"...so I just put a teeny bit on my plate over some rice and was wishing I had put more. It was a little spicy, but that's what Cajun cookin' is, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good, easy recipe. I did omit the mushrooms and added celery. The consistency was a little dry so I added some chicken broth.I brought it up a notch in seasoning, using cayenne instead of hot sauce. I also added a little Creole seasoning. We'll be celebrating Mardi Gras with it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this last night... my husband and I both LOVED it. I did omit the mushrooms, peppers, soy sauce, Worcestershire and used Emeril's "Essence" (the recipe for that is on Food Network) in place of all the spices ( I guess I made something different but something that was inspired by this recipe) I added a can a green chiles and a can of diced tomatoes...I also had to add a little water, it was a little too thick for our taste but I served it over brown rice & it was Yummy! He even took the leftovers to work for lunch today - and he NEVER does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanishize122
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe! The only thing is you have to watch the flour mixture and stir it constantly over low to medium heat or it will burn. I left out the mushrooms, and use a little sriracha sauce instead of regular hot sauce, since my husband is not a fan of spicy food. It was just the right amount of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishize122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Followed recipe exactly..so bland!! Lucky I had some Buffalo wing sauce to dump in to give it some taste. I also doubled soy etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Everyone went back for seconds! I added chicken stock (quite a bit) and chorizo sausage, as well as substituting the hot sauce for cayenne. Instead of tomatoes with chilli pepper I added regular chopped tomatoes and two habanero/Scotch Bonnet peppers. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe would be great but for a few things. For one thing, the name needs to be changed. It should be Creole Style Chicken Gumbo. For another, Worcestershire and soy sauces need to go. And, please, NO sugar. Mushrooms and chile peppers are okay. Those things do actually grow in South Louisiana and could realistically be in a gumbo, though Cajun gumbo is more likely to have the peppers. Also, please don't sprinkle with filet powder. That ingredient really doesn't taste all that good and its only purpose is to somewhat thicken the gumbo -- not needed here unless you leave out the roux. Then, it should be stirred in at the end, just before serving. Also, even though celery was not originally in Creole gumbo, it has been for so long now that it is pretty much expected. And yes, definitely add more liquid. Gumbo is a soup, not a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Sounds great...I have been looking for a way to use leftover turkey and this might just add the kick that it needs. I agree to either omit mushrooms or at least use fresh. Also, I will be adding the stock as I want this to be more soupy than not. I always brown flower with butter and for that hot kick either add cayenne or some jalapenos. Probably some Zatarain seasoning. I don't usually use okra but in cajun food I like it better than usual. I think that would add a bit of cajun to it but not a necessity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Also check out "Basic Creole Sauce" on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My hubby and daughter (10 years old) loved it, although we were all sweating! I skipped the hot sauce, but added half a jar of jalapenos + juice to the pot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States