Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Made this last night for my husband and me, it was a tad spicy, very tasty, he loved it but a bit too hot for me. All in all it is a great recipe and I will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WindRider
Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wow! This is so simple and amazingly delicious! I used leftover roasted chicken, so this came together in a snap. The flavors are rich and complex. I did use butter instead of oil for the roux, fresh mushrooms, and 2 stalks of celery in addition to the other veggies because it needed using. Absolutely delicious and easy enough for a weeknight meal if you use leftover chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe EXCEPT for the 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, I am a non-spicy person and it turned out perfect for me. I did use the Tabasco sauce as stated. It would be wonderful with shrimp and sausage. Will make again for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up some leftover turkey - and this was a winner. As several reviewers noted, adding some chicken broth helped with the consistency. And to make this a one-pot meal, I added some rice directly into the gumbo instead of serving it separately. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I honestly don't know why it turned out so well, it seems like more than the sum of its ingredients. I added a can of chicken broth to the roux to make it more soup like and served it over rice. I ended up having thirds. It's fast and easy. After browning the flour and adding the broth, I just threw in all the other ingredients and cooked for 20 min and that was it. Best recipe I've ever had from this site and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Loved this! My husband told me it was a "keeper." I did not use the mushrooms, but added a cup of chopped celery. Also added a half of a bag of frozen okra. It was dry, so I added 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. This definitely goes in the favorite file!!!!!7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Received raves from family. Slight changes. Mushrooms were not necessary. Added File powder to give it added zest. Because of family taste buds, I left out the hot sauce. The tomatoes with chili peppers was hot enough for most. The others added their own additional hot sauce or cajun seasoning. Also used brown rice for added nourishment and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
As written, this recipe is a solid 4 stars. With the modifications - celery instead of mushrooms, cayenne pepper and smoked sausage - this is 5 stars! Don't forget to add some Cajun seasoning, too. The wife went for seconds - that told me a lot right there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jojerose
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Pretty tasty. I added a 14.5 oz can of chicken broth, used a fresh jalapeno with a can of diced tomatoes, threw in a couple of bay leaves, 1 tbsp of thyme, and added sausage to the chicken. I made the roux out of the sausage drippings with a little butter. If I was cooking just for me I would omit the sugar but my daughter likes the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I used fresh mushrooms and had to leave out the onions b/c my husband doesn't like them. So could have even been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States