Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
it was good but i needed to add about 3/4ths cup of water to keep it from lumping up on me while simmering, and at first i served it over rice, and then i just mixed the cooked rice in with it for delicious flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Tomaras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I left out the mushrooms and hot sauce. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Made this last night for my husband and me, it was a tad spicy, very tasty, he loved it but a bit too hot for me. All in all it is a great recipe and I will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WindRider
Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wow! This is so simple and amazingly delicious! I used leftover roasted chicken, so this came together in a snap. The flavors are rich and complex. I did use butter instead of oil for the roux, fresh mushrooms, and 2 stalks of celery in addition to the other veggies because it needed using. Absolutely delicious and easy enough for a weeknight meal if you use leftover chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe EXCEPT for the 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, I am a non-spicy person and it turned out perfect for me. I did use the Tabasco sauce as stated. It would be wonderful with shrimp and sausage. Will make again for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up some leftover turkey - and this was a winner. As several reviewers noted, adding some chicken broth helped with the consistency. And to make this a one-pot meal, I added some rice directly into the gumbo instead of serving it separately. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I honestly don't know why it turned out so well, it seems like more than the sum of its ingredients. I added a can of chicken broth to the roux to make it more soup like and served it over rice. I ended up having thirds. It's fast and easy. After browning the flour and adding the broth, I just threw in all the other ingredients and cooked for 20 min and that was it. Best recipe I've ever had from this site and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Loved this! My husband told me it was a "keeper." I did not use the mushrooms, but added a cup of chopped celery. Also added a half of a bag of frozen okra. It was dry, so I added 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. This definitely goes in the favorite file!!!!!7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Received raves from family. Slight changes. Mushrooms were not necessary. Added File powder to give it added zest. Because of family taste buds, I left out the hot sauce. The tomatoes with chili peppers was hot enough for most. The others added their own additional hot sauce or cajun seasoning. Also used brown rice for added nourishment and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
As written, this recipe is a solid 4 stars. With the modifications - celery instead of mushrooms, cayenne pepper and smoked sausage - this is 5 stars! Don't forget to add some Cajun seasoning, too. The wife went for seconds - that told me a lot right there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States