Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very tasty! Made as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
my husband and i love this - my husband actually asks for this dish which never happens. i use regular tomatoes and that way i can add chilis to our tasting, some days we like it hotter some days milder. sometimes we use the mushrooms, sometimes we don't, but we always add chicken broth to make it soupier. so glad you shared this recipe, we have it at least twice a month if not once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is very good. I added okra and cayenne pepper when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo Strickland Lafitte Herman
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
A little spicy, but everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Definately a strong recipe, don't be afraid to experiment with the ingredients per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Wish there were more stars!!! Kept going back for more and more! I used everything listed except bell peppers (didn't have any). I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a small can of roasted garlic tomato sauce (the small can). Also, I put the chicken in raw and added extra water (eyeballed it) and put in a bay leaf and let it all simmer for about 30-45 minutes or so (to fully cook the chicken). Also I used hot sauce instead of Tabasco sauce. I used the Louisiana One Drop Does It Hot Sauce. Can we say YUMMMOOOO!!! I'd even add shrimp and/or sausage, it'd go in great I'm sure. I'd also add celery too like many reviewers say, I'm sure it'd be good in this too! My 5-yr old lil girl neighbor tried it and loved it! When she went home, she told her parents and the father came back asking to try, of course I wanted to share and oblige! I'm sure they'll enjoy!! GREAT RECIPE and SO EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Outstanding recipe! Took reviewers' recommendation to make roux with butter (actually low fat margarine), add a jalapeno and some broth (only 1/2 cup as I like it as a stew). Great flavor and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Haiku: "Holy amazing! Spicy, can't-stop-eating-good. Followed some reviews." Adored this dish, and took helpful tips from many of the reviews, such as swapping mushrooms for celery, adding chick. broth (1 c.), adding 1/2 tsp. dried thyme, swapping hot sauce for 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and I also threw in some turkey smoked sausage. Out-freaking-standing! Not sure why there's so much discord over preparing the roux; perhaps there are different methods, but I've found the med. heat (oil, not butter, and flour), constant stir, not for a measured amount of time, but til it bubbles and darkens (deeper than peanut butter, which might as well be a gravy-thickener and not a true roux) always works for me. This "gumbo" was the perfect heat, texture, and taste, and I look forward to making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this for a group of 6 and everybody absolutely loved it. I will definitely be making it again. I made brown rice for this to be put on top of. It made the dish go further and the flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States