Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe is very good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added one can of chicken stock. I had a lot of chicken so I added an extra can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. I plan on making this again and add some shrimp to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great Recipe! Definitely recommend adding chicken broth for more soup like texture. I made 10 servings and half of it was in soup form. I also added extra hot sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! I followed some of the advice in the other reviews and made the roux with butter instead of oil. I also omitted the mushrooms and used extra chicken broth. Some of my own additions were andouille sausage, shrimp, celery, Cajun seasoning, thyme and some chili powder. I add some rice, too. This is by far one of our favorite meals, especially when we let it simmer for hours on the wood stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
4.5 Stars: Using other reviews, I added one can of chicken broth. I also added some andouille sausage. It was a hit for our Mardi Gras dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very Nice - Thanks to other reviews, added some sausage and shrimp, okra, celery. DOUBLED the recipe - Great the next day. Used the Store-Bought rotisserie chicken and made broth with the remains after stripping off the meat. Added perhaps a cup of the broth. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Good simple quick recipe,only change I made was adding 1 cup of chicken broth and made it more spicy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
LOVED it! I did add thyme and cayanne pepper (i love spicy food!!) and it hit the spot. I am definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I confess to altering a bit.. I sautéed the onion, pepper and fresh mushrooms prior to making the rioux. I also roasted the chicken which gave an additional depth of flavor to the dish. I also added roasted red peppers and about one cup of wine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I only tweaked this recipe slightly to make it a little spicy .... and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
i thought this recipe was missing something. it wasn't super flaorful and didn't really taste like a gumbo to me. it certainly wasn't bad in any way, but it was just so-so. i don't think i'll make this again, although it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States