Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Good simple quick recipe,only change I made was adding 1 cup of chicken broth and made it more spicy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
LOVED it! I did add thyme and cayanne pepper (i love spicy food!!) and it hit the spot. I am definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allnewtothis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I confess to altering a bit.. I sautéed the onion, pepper and fresh mushrooms prior to making the rioux. I also roasted the chicken which gave an additional depth of flavor to the dish. I also added roasted red peppers and about one cup of wine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I only tweaked this recipe slightly to make it a little spicy .... and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
i thought this recipe was missing something. it wasn't super flaorful and didn't really taste like a gumbo to me. it certainly wasn't bad in any way, but it was just so-so. i don't think i'll make this again, although it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Quitta
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
THIS WAS A GREAT QUICK GUMBO RECIPE. I ADDED ANDOUILLE SAUSAGE AND OKRA TO IT. IT TURNED OUT DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very good! Was tempted to add chicken broth as others but in the end found it wasn't necessary. Once it simmers the liquid comes out nicely. Adding broth would have made it too soupy IMO. One thing I did that I think really gave it a lot of flavor was cook the chicken with Emeril's Essence (homemade). Used a heaping tablepoon's worth. Very impressed with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Really good! I added sliced celery, sliced about 5 fresh okra pods from my balcony garden, added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes, added sliced chicken andouille sausage links (2), omitted the sugar, salt, and the mushrooms. Served this over instant white rice (it's all I had), but it was delicious. M said "good, but needs more meat and less veggies" (he's not a fan of "food that my food eats") but he made do. Thanks, SMFLRN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Served over raman noodles & chowmein. Rich really liked this alot. I just thought it was ok. A chinese dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States