Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this with a few alterations and it turned out AMAZING! Made the roux with butter and brown rice flour because I was out of all-purpose flour. The roux took about 3 minutes to change colour. Next I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of 14 oz and 2 cups of water with 1 chicken bouillon. The reason I added more liquid is because I used uncooked chicken thighs instead of cooked chicken breast because that's what I had in my fridge. I cooked the chicken in the liquid for about 50 mins covered and on medium-low, just about all the extra liquid evaporated during the cooking process. Once the chicken was cooked I took it off the bones (it literally fell off the bones). Oh I also used a whole green chile pepper and added 1 tsp of cayenne. The spice was perfect for my family! I omitted the mushrooms and added half a Portuguese sausage. Everyone loved it and it tasted even better the next day. I think next time I will used white meat to cut back on the fat. Overall, dinner was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and added 1 cup of chicken broth and fresh mushrooms. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent. Added some turkey sausage for the heck of it and chicken broth. Delish thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Maybe it's just me, but I was always raised that you can't cook cajun or creole without the trinity/mirepoix- onion, celery, and bell pepper. In my opinion it would be top notch with the addition of the celery and the adding in some dried thyme and cajun or creole seasoning. I think the last just adds nice needed kick to the spices of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Overall, I like this recipe but with several alterations. We like garlic, so we used 8 cloves of garlic and to make it gluten-free, we used brown rice flour. We added chopped celery, 1 1/2 cups chix broth, and increased the tomatoes to 2 cans (next time will try to find Cajun Style Stewed Tomatoes). Added 1 \+ cup sliced Andoullie sausage, 1+ cup small cooked shrimp, and 1 bag frozen okra. Used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and cooked them with the onion and green pepper. It turned into a very substantial quick gumbo. Will definitely make it again with the Cajun tomatoes and probably add a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Definitely don't add the flour to the oil on high. After 30 seconds of stirring, it was burned to my pot, my spoon was melted, which then dripped on my hand causing a 2nd degree burn to my palm. Tried again over medium low heat and it worked great. Despite the dramatic events, this recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
If I could give this more stars I would. This was so simple to make and I did tweak it just a bit. First off I sautéed the peppers and onions for a bit then added a couple of sausages sliced in pieces. I did this because of a personal preference but not sure I would take this extra step next time. I used a cast dutch oven to make the roux as recommended by other reviews. Next I skipped the hot sauce but put in about 1 tsp cayenne. I just like the flavor. I used leftover turkey because I wanted to get it used up. I didn't have tomatoes with green chiles so I used a can of tomatoes and added a can of green chiles separately. I put everything together in the slow cooker to keep it warm for about 4 hours on low. I decided to add 1 cup of chicken broth part way through the cooking time just to have a soupier dish to serve over white rice. About 1/2 hour before we were ready to eat I added some pre cooked shrimp to warm. This was so delicious and what a great way to use up extra turkey. Thanks for this recipe it will go into my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was OK. I thought it had some sweetness in the background that did not appeal to me. There's only a teaspoon of sugar so not sure if it was from that or maybe because I used a yellow pepper instead of a green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Really, really enjoyed this Gumbo! I think that this recipe is likely best used as a 'base' recipe, to be modified a little bit depending on the tastes of the cook. Personally, I followed the advice of others and made a few alterations/additions: 1. Added one, chopped, smoked sausage coil. 2. Used Cayenne pepper in place of hot sauce. 3. Omitted mushrooms.. but doubled bell peppers. 4. Used 1 can of chicken stock. 5. 20 minutes is not NEARLY enough cook time. I simmered this for 2 hours before serving. It gave the flavours a chance to really develop and deepen. Absolutely divine! I am looking desperately forward to lunch today when I'll get to have it as leftovers… I imagine it'll only be tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States