Gumbo Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We LOVE this recipe. I have made it twice now and my picky eater of a son always has 2 bowls. Of course I have made a few changes, we don't like okra so I don't use that and I use 1 pound of shrimp and half pound of scallops. I don't even weigh how much ham I put in! I maybe do 75% of a can of water, that way it's not to soupy. Also fresh onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayamroue@hotmail.com
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I used fresh ognions and fresh garlic which I stir fried before adding the other ingredients. I also added black pepper, extra okra and kidney beans. It came out delicious!! Oh and I added shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I gave this 4 stars with changes. I live in Louisiana....So, these are the changes I made: I doubled the recipe, instead of dried onions, I used 1 whole chopped onion. i could not find campbells, so I used 3 cans of progresso, added gumbo filet, old bay seasoning, black pepper and Tony Chachere to taste, and I cooked it on top of the stove, stirring constantly on medium to medium high heat, adding the shrimp when all the rice was cooked.....and let sit for about 5 mins when done. Great starter recipe, tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I tried this recipe and I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
OK, I might try making it with regular rice, the instant rice just gave it an unpleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Easy and delicious! I used the light version of Campbell's condensed gumbo. I don't like hot spice; so, I substituted Creole seasoning for the Cajun seasoning. I used brown rice instead of white rice. My oven tends to cook on the slow side. I needed to cook this for 45 minutes for the liquid to properly absorb. This dish was very flavorful. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was okay, but could not find the canned soup, and the whole thing seemed to be missing something more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuleeM.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I couldn't find the Campbells condense gumbo soup instead I sub regular gumbo soup by another brand. The flavor was a little weak, it was missing that "kick". However, I still got a thumbs up from my family (Louisiana natives). Will try again =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States